Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    SkyBB on 2 phone lines?

    This is a discussion on SkyBB on 2 phone lines? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have 2 phone lines at home. Does anyone know if its possible to get SkyBB on each? I would ...

    1. #1
      skysport's Avatar
      skysport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SkyBB on 2 phone lines?

      I have 2 phone lines at home. Does anyone know if its possible to get SkyBB on each? I would like to have one phone line on SkyMax and the second phone line on SkyBase. The second would be a backup if I encounter a disruption in service on the first.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tomd84's Avatar
      tomd84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: I bet you would like to know!
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB on 2 phone lines?

      Quote Originally Posted by skysport View Post
      I have 2 phone lines at home. Does anyone know if its possible to get SkyBB on each? I would like to have one phone line on SkyMax and the second phone line on SkyBase. The second would be a backup if I encounter a disruption in service on the first.
      if there both bt lines

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SkyBB on 2 phone lines?

      I doubt if Sky will, supply 2 subsidized services to one address. You would have a better chance asking for Connect, but that costs 17 pm!

    5. #4
      Adam86's Avatar
      Adam86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoke-on-Trent
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB on 2 phone lines?

      I think you can only have one connection per household...

      You could maybe have dialup pay as you go on the other line with BT etc, as that would cost nothing unless you used it..... If you put up with dialup.

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: SkyBB on 2 phone lines?

      If you happen to have a Orange contract mobile phone on 30 a month or more you can get a free 2mb connection from them, so Sky on one line and Orange on the other.
      If it's constant service you are worried about then I would go with different suppliers, because all the Sky equipment in the exchanged resides in one rack, so if there was a major fault with power or the connection from that equipment to the outside world chances are it will take down all the lines connected to that exchange, which we have heard of on this forum before where all Sky users on a particular exchange have been down, the lastest was Chelmsford about a week or so ago.
      I agree with coments above I dont think Sky will provide 2 connections.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION