Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    trying to get uncapped

    This is a discussion on trying to get uncapped within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After numerous emails to sky and no replies, is there someone who can help me get uncapped via a backdoor ...

    1. #1
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      trying to get uncapped

      After numerous emails to sky and no replies, is there someone who can help me get uncapped via a backdoor possibly ???

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to get uncapped

      Have you tried phoning them?

    4. #3
      big john's Avatar
      big john is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to get uncapped

      Hi, whats wrong with emailing them?
      My time is to short to muck around going in circles and getting nowhere.
      I'd rather stick to email thanks


    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: trying to get uncapped

      Quote Originally Posted by big john View Post
      Hi, whats wrong with emailing them?
      As you said in your first posting.... they dont reply

    6. #5
      L-nation's Avatar
      L-nation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to get uncapped

      Well' I wish you luck because I must have phoned sky about 30 times and sent about 10 emails. I finally had an increase in my download speed to 6656 kbps today, so they must have release some of the caps. here's part of my last email that I sent them "twice". I'II be happy with 6656 kbps, I better not moan anymore othrwise I maybe capped again. Good luck.

      ---------------------------------

      Hello Sky Broadband,

      I signed up for the "up to" 16meg download speed broadband service.

      When I first started using sky broadband I had a download speed of just under 8meg and the line occasionally drops out, I phoned BB technical support why I was getting no where near "up to" 16meg and was told that if I had my line replaced it would stop the dropouts and they would look into my download speed. I had a phone call from BB technical to say that my line is now capped to 6meg, but by the next few weeks I was only getting about 3.5meg.

      I arranged for my line to be replaced at my expense as neither BT or Sky would pay, and for the first week on the new line I was still only getting about 3.5meg, then it dropped to just over 2meg, now I am getting only a measly 1824 kbps. BT have checked my new line and they said there is nothing wrong, in fact the S/N noise margin is higher than before.

      I'm always having to phone broadband technical because I never receive a call back, Always I'm told that the tickets get closed.

      I rely on the Internet because I am disabled. There is nothing wrong with my computer and I get the same results using ethernet or wireless connected. I have been told everything from (1) you are being automatically capped (2) you are on emergency supply (3) most users will only get 2meg (4) its my computer settings. Every time I phone up I'm told the ticket has been closed.

      I signed up for the "up to" 16meg max package. Please would you remove the caps from my line as they are making no difference, only to slow down the speed. Thank you.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION