Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    xbox live

    This is a discussion on xbox live within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; every time i play on xbox live the routers wireless connection drops out every few mins or so my xbox ...

    1. #1
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      xbox live

      every time i play on xbox live the routers wireless connection drops out every few mins or so my xbox 360 is coonected my laptop and tht is connected wirelessly to the router ,this only seems to happen when i play online. my conection completly drops out then it will reconnect again this sounds daft but its as if the connection is being overloded but this ever happend with the old router
      Last edited by AWW; 05-03-07 at 08:51 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      help meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    4. #3
      MrWoody83's Avatar
      MrWoody83 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Totton Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      I have my Xbox plugged into my Sky Router using ethernet cable, I had major problems trying to connect up my Xbox completely wirelessly. Connection kept dropping etc.

      Try using the Xbox ethernet cable and see if that helps you?

    5. #4
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      Quote Originally Posted by wireless-andy View Post
      every time i play on xbox live the routers wireless connection drops out every few mins or so my xbox 360 is coonected my laptop and tht is connected wirelessly to the router ,this only seems to happen when i play online. my conection completly drops out then it will reconnect again this sounds daft but its as if the connection is being overloded but this ever happend with the old router

      Why are you using ICS for the 360 via the laptop when you have a router?



      Can't you connect the 360 directly to the router via ethernet?


      Or get a wireless adaptor for the 360 so it can connect to the router wirelessly?


      Running two lots of NAT (router & laptop) like that isn't going to work particularly well..........

    6. #5
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      As Tezcat (hi) says, try a cable.
      IMO a cable is far superior to wireless anyway & when gaming we need every little bit of speed we can get.

    7. #6
      supernova's Avatar
      supernova is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      I've got my connection set up exactly the same as you but I have had to bridge my wireless connection with my xbox connection.

      Go into network connections - highlight the wireless connection and the Xbox connection by holding down CTRL and clicking on each connection - Select Bridge Connections. Make sure before you do this that everything is set to automatically detect network settings.

      If everything works OK you should still be able to access the net on your laptop. If you cant access the net after this you need to force compatibility mode in a command prompt.

      Open a command prompt - type NETSH BRIDGE SHOW a

      Then force compatibility mode by typing NETSH BRIDGE SET A 1 E

      The '1' being the wireless connection or maybe 2 on your setup

      Here is an MS link - I assume you are using XP
      http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...02april22.mspx

      Test your Xbox Live Connection and it should appear as 'Open' - It may be 'Moderate' at the moment and that is why you are having the problem

    8. #7
      Lupa's Avatar
      Lupa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      I used to get this problem with windows xp pro if I had windows zero config on, it would stop the connection to find other networks every few minutes. If you are using a windows xp laptop then I would turn it off, if you are using a mac laptop then you should not be getting the problem. If your laptop comes with wireless software use that instead.

      or just connect the xbox through ethernet like what others have said.

      It may not be the problem but its worth a try.

      Hardware Analysis - Forum - How do I disable Wireless Zero Configuration in Windows XP?

      Turning off Wireless Zero Configuration

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION