Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    How Will I Know?......

    This is a discussion on How Will I Know?...... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We have upgraded from Tiscali to Sky BB Max. We have recieved the router and a letter to say the ...

    1. #1
      marbar2k's Avatar
      marbar2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Childwall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How Will I Know?......

      We have upgraded from Tiscali to Sky BB Max. We have recieved the router and a letter to say the line will be active on the 6/03/07 (tomorrow). How will i know when I am ready to recieve Sky BB?

      Should i just plug the sky router in and see if i get access?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      Welcome Marbar.

      You can plug in the router in advance.
      There have been a couple of postings saying they were
      activated in advance of the date given by Sky.
      Many more have had to wait longer.
      I was activated when they said I would be.
      You may want to check out the 2 threads I have
      a link to below.
      Especially First Time Set Up.

      Good Luck.


      My Max.
      Faster, Cheaper, Better

    4. #3
      marbar2k's Avatar
      marbar2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Childwall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      i am on tiscali at the mo and that is still working. when my sky becomes active will my tiscali connection go off?

      Thanks for the links

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      Have you tried plugging the Sky router in to see if it works?

      Mine was due to be connected 11th January and was done by about 9am that date, others have found theres works the day before.

      I would expect your Tiscali connection to drop first though.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      your tiscalli password shouldnt work when u get changhed over also look on here type ur phone number in and it will let you know if ongoing or finished
      DSL ZoneUK - Order tracker

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      DSL ZoneUK - Order tracker

      This link seems to exclude migrations, is there any way to check if a migration is progressing?

    8. #7
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      hi when i changed from plus to sky this site told me there was a order on my line and when sky went live [ie i migrated ] the line checker showed no more orders on the line

    9. #8
      Josh01's Avatar
      Josh01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      Mine said will be active today the 5th and sure enough got home to find adsl line up but connection down swaped routers and all up and running. syncs at about 12 MB can't complain so far as Came from pipex that downloads were sud modems. Speed test all evening in the 9500 11600 mark

    10. #9
      marbar2k's Avatar
      marbar2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Childwall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      here is my latest update,

      I plugged my sky router in this morning around 1am. (i still had full speed access from tiscali) and all the lights lit up on my router, but i could not access any internet pages. Is there a problem or is my line still not active?

    11. #10
      Josh01's Avatar
      Josh01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Will I Know?......

      Quote Originally Posted by marbar2k View Post
      i am on tiscali at the mo and that is still working. when my sky becomes active will my tiscali connection go off?

      Thanks for the links
      Yes it will, the chances that sky will not be active till about lunch time.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION