Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

    This is a discussion on Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just want to ask a simalr question. Am currently with Be - but as im being made redunant in a ...

    1. #11
      nidave's Avatar
      nidave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broughton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      Just want to ask a simalr question.
      Am currently with Be - but as im being made redunant in a months time am moving to Sky as the total cost of sky with bb and phone etc is alot less than my current sky package and bb.

      I get a decent speed of about 7.2mbps

      my line stats are:

      Uptime: 0 days, 3:45:59
      Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,191 / 8,810
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 30.55 / 117.01
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 17.0 / 35.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.0 / 9.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB /
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 8 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 46 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote): 0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 594 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 3,686,615
      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 8,403 / 281
      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 312,331 / 232

      if you look there are quite a few errors and my connection does drop intermittantly (when this happens seems to go through lots of dissconnects then fine for ages)

      after all that - my question is will my speed be simalar on the 8mb brodband or will I have to go with the higher one to keep this speed. my exhcnage is llu'd


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      @ maxping

      Looking at your stats I would suggest that you should get close to 16MB max on the max package. On the connect/mid packages your stats are very similar to mine and I get 8128 down and 448 up.

      @ dws 72

      you have a good connection speed for your line attenuation but, you need to improve your noise margin if possible, it may be causing a lot of errors the line. Try connecting your router directly to the test socket behind the faceplate of your BT master socket. This would help to rule out interference caused by internal wiring.

      See this thread http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      If your interested what the stats mean take a look here

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html

      Hope this helps
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #13
      nidave's Avatar
      nidave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broughton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      Quote Originally Posted by Lazarus View Post

      Hope this helps

      Am I not good enough not being a sky bb user to receve any help
      Will just have to spend the rest of the day in the wardrobe crying

    5. #14
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      sorry nidave

      Was trying to make sense of your stats but I'm afraid I'm not savvy enough to tell what you could expect from sky. Your attenuation and noise margin seem good enough just to go for the 8MB package and get similar to what you have now, but I don't know how that translates to the sky packages.


      Hoping someone else can add to this?
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    6. #15
      dws_72's Avatar
      dws_72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      "lazarus",
      thanks for the reply, should i be getting a better download speed than 1.8meg or is this normal d/l speeds for an 8meg line, and how do i check if it keeps disconnecting...?
      also when i plug directly into the master socket do i just recheck my stats and what sort of things am i looking for...? Ta..

      sorry for being so dumb...!!

    7. #16
      CliveyG's Avatar
      CliveyG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      Okay, well as recommended, I connected the router to the main socket, bypassing all the extensions, etc that it normally connects through. I did a speed test and it was almost identical, around 960k download and about 340 up. So what next? Is there any point in ringing Sky? Although some have suggested that we wouldn't get anywhere near 5.5MB on our stats, this was definately the case before (on Plus.net) and even the suggested figure of 3MB-ish isn't even something we seem to be achieving at the moment!

    8. #17
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      @ dws 72

      You are actually connecting at 5184kbps which is very good considering the distance you are from the exchange. It is likely that errors on the line are causing your poor download speeds. Try connecting directly to the test socket using the thread on the right-hand sidde of this page.

      @ CliveyG

      Did you connect to the main socket or to the test socket behind the faceplate? The test socket bypasses all of the internal wiring. Again the thred for doing this is on the right-hand side of this page.

      After that the best I can do is to suggest that you both post your extended router stats here: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/
      and let the more technical minded guys have a look at them.

      This thread will tell you how to get the extended stats.

      Help - How do I get advanced Stats
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    9. #18
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      Quote Originally Posted by Lazarus View Post
      @ maxping

      Looking at your stats I would suggest that you should get close to 16MB max on the max package. On the connect/mid packages your stats are very similar to mine and I get 8128 down and 448 up.
      Thanks mate and again apologies to the original poster for taking over your thread.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      CliveyG Wrote

      Now I was told else that max based on these should be about 3.5 MB, but she definately had 5.5MB with Plus.net.
      I am also with Plusnet and in the process of moving to Sky, for financial reasons, as not being a heavy downloader, I am/was quite happy with the service. My speed is similar to this and just wonder if the router used has any bearing? I have read some quite disparaging comments about the router supplied by Sky and wonder if this is more to blame for bad speeds than Sky will admit. The OP's sister, I assume, has made no changes to her line since changing, so to do the usual checks for internal problems would seem to be a waste of time. Simply changing the router should not make any difference to the line. Would anyone like to comment on how good/bad this Sky router is?

    11. #20
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Sky and gone from 5.5Mb to less than 1MB

      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION