Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    The "i" on the Sky router

    This is a discussion on The "i" on the Sky router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys First post here, Sky router installed and activation date according to Sky is 3rd March. However, when the ...

    1. #1
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The "i" on the Sky router

      Hi guys

      First post here, Sky router installed and activation date according to Sky is 3rd March.

      However, when the router is plugged in etc the internet light on the router flashes as expected and then goes constant green. I was under the impression that when the "i" is constantly lit the router has sync'd and has established a connection. When I try and connect to the web I cannot, assuming because my line is not activated yet, yet the constant green "i" seems to indicate otherwise.

      I was under the impression that the "i" on the router will remain un-lit until Sky activate my line (3/3/7).

      I am a complete router/wireless newbie having only used USB ADSL modems in the past.

      Thanks for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Does not always happen that the i light wont light until you are changed to sky sometimes it has been known for previous isp's and current isp's to sync at the same time it's just that bt and sky aren't sync'd yet so hopefully tomorrow sky will work.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Welcome to the forum

      The "i" just indicates you have synced with the exchange, not that you've been authenticated and have been given an IP.

    5. #4
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Thanks guys for the quick replies. Will have to wait and see what the weekend brings. Looking forward to some decent speed from Sky (only 1km from the exchange).
      Will no doubt be posting again with further queries.
      Thanks again

    6. #5
      danb's Avatar
      danb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      The I does signify that you have sync'd up. If you didnt have an ADSL ISP before (not migrating), you could try giving sky a ring and asking them to activate your account - it depends if you get through to someone who knows what they are talking about (doubtful with sky).

      When I was using PlusNet, they were happy to activate my account 6 days before activation date when I told them the router was syncing up.

    7. #6
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by danb View Post
      The I does signify that you have sync'd up. If you didnt have an ADSL ISP before (not migrating), you could try giving sky a ring and asking them to activate your account - it depends if you get through to someone who knows what they are talking about (doubtful with sky).

      When I was using PlusNet, they were happy to activate my account 6 days before activation date when I told them the router was syncing up.
      I am currently have ADSL with Pipex. In the process of migrating to Sky (activates tomorrow hopefully).

    8. #7
      danb's Avatar
      danb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by garrymum View Post
      I am currently have ADSL with Pipex. In the process of migrating to Sky (activates tomorrow hopefully).
      Ah, in that case the router will be synching up anyway, it won't switch over until sky until tomorrow

    9. #8
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      All up and running now - connected at 13022 down, 764 up. Currently got utorrent running, total download peaks about 300KB/s. Is this correct?

    10. #9
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by garrymum View Post
      All up and running now - connected at 13022 down, 764 up. Currently got utorrent running, total download peaks about 300KB/s. Is this correct?
      Torrents are slower m8 as you probably know. Try a newsgroup they always max out my connection speed.

    11. #10
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The "i" on the Sky router

      Wouldn't know whereto start with NG's!!!!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION