Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

    This is a discussion on Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All I've just downloaded a 60MB file in under 2 minutes, but web pages take an absolute age to ...

    1. #1
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      Hi All
      I've just downloaded a 60MB file in under 2 minutes, but web pages take an absolute age to fully load, feels slower than dial up, sometimes small gifs don't even load.
      My routers status page shows the following (which looks good(?))


      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 15260 Kbps 764 Kbps
      Noise Margin 7.6 dB 13.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 29.5 dB 13.6 dB
      Output Power 0.0 dBm 12.4 dBm

      So can anyone give an explanation to the slow web pages?
      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pubmaster's Avatar
      pubmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      My web pages have been taking ages to load for the last 2 weeks.

      download speeds are great {most of the time} but just net browsing is like being back on dial up.

      Thought it was just mine playing up.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      Quote Originally Posted by allancoblue View Post
      So can anyone give an explanation to the slow web pages?
      Yes. My guess is you're using McAfee?

    5. #4
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Yes. My guess is you're using McAfee?
      Ooh no, wouldn't touch it with a barge pole, I'd like to think that I'm quite net savvy and tight!
      I use Avast and have done for the last three years, the problems I'm experiencing now were not happening before I joined up to Sky, I'm sure that the problem is with their equipment, just don't know what I can do about it.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      OK - with you on that one - hate McAfee

      Any other add blocking utilities running? If not try flushing your DNS cache.

      If that doesn't clear the problem then I suppose you could be hitting a duff server in Sky's DNS farm. Some while ago I seem to recall this was a problem for a small number of customers. Does the problem go away if you change DNS server to something like Open DNS (208.67.222.222)?

    7. #6
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      Thanks for that Saturday,
      I wasn't too sure how changing those settings could have any effect, however I went to the Open DNS website, read through its explanation and changed my settings (prior to that I flushed the cache too), so far so good, definately a speed increase in page loading times, however tonight will be a good test as the net slows down considerably after 8, fingers crossed.

    8. #7
      pubmaster's Avatar
      pubmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yahoo home page loads so slow, but 60MB...

      How do you change your DNS settings? have been to to OpenDNS web page and read through it, but when i go into my router to apply the changes i cant find where my current DNS settings are? do i go on Dynamic DNS ? i must be having a Thicko day

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION