Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

    This is a discussion on My Exchange is Unbundled Now! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just found out that my local exchange (Totton) in Southampton has been unbundled and I can now upgrade ...

    1. #1
      MrWoody83's Avatar
      MrWoody83 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Totton Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      I have just found out that my local exchange (Totton) in Southampton has been unbundled and I can now upgrade to Max package.

      I have just called Sky Broadband to upgrade and was told that this can be done however there may be some interference on the line or complete loss of service for a couple of days whilst they upgrade me from Connect (17.00 a month package) to the Max product.

      Has anyone experienced this "loss of service" or interference at all?.

      This is my first post but have been reading the forums on this site for a long time!.

      Thanks

      Woody


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      I'm on the Hythe exchange, just down the road. It's been unbundled but I've not yet been tranferred. Think I saw a post saying that many were being done on the 3rd March.
      I'm sure I've read a few posts saying that people have lost connection for anything from 30 mins to a few hours but, I may be wrong. If I am I'm sure someone will correct me
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      MrWoody83's Avatar
      MrWoody83 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Totton Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      If the service is lost for a few hours that wouldnt bother me so much, It would be a bit off if it was lost for a few days.

      I know that when you first upgrade the line drops a bit so that can then gain optimum speed.

      I just hope I dont lose Broadband for days on end!!!

    5. #4
      simonh's Avatar
      simonh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBURTO
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      There are various posts on this issue. the fact seems to be that sky has yet to upgrade a single customer from connect. I have been trying since early january and am still waiting.

      In terms of time scale, I've been told that sky have to order (via BT) a cease of IPStream and enablement of LLU which takes approx. 10 days. Thats 10 days of no internet.

      I wouldn't worry as it will probably be a while yet before anyone gets the upgrade.

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      I have this to go through and I really hope it isn't as bad as loosing internet access for 10 days, hopefully that is in the worst cases.

    7. #6
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      I am due to transfer over to the max package on the 7th March. On the BT tracking order it says my line will be LLU on the 7th BUT my IP stream won't be ceased until the 12th March. Does this mean that I'll have no downtime as my connect package would still be running on the line.

    8. #7
      MrWoody83's Avatar
      MrWoody83 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Totton Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      I just checked the exchange on Broadband Resource and it seems as though it is enabled for Sky so I will see what happens in next few days.

      The Broadband Resource


      I take it when they do "switch" me over to Max my I will notice an upload/download speed increase?!.
      Last edited by MrWoody83; 01-03-07 at 09:56 AM.

    9. #8
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Exchange is Unbundled Now!

      I think whether you get an increase in speed will still be down to your distance from the exchange and the degree of noise on the line. If you are already getting the maximum speed for the distance you are unlikely to get more on the max package (except for the unlimilted download limit - subject to the FUP of course).

      I have also heard it stated on here that the ADSL2+, used on the max packages, is more unstable on lines with high noise. So it's all dependant on your current connection.

      Saying that you should still get an increase in the upload speed, anything up 768kbps.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION