Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Is this the first of teh usual Sky Issues and...

    This is a discussion on Is this the first of teh usual Sky Issues and... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ... we arent really there yet. I was on Demon and last thursday took the plunge. It went well, mac ...

    1. #1
      msmarks's Avatar
      msmarks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Is this the first of teh usual Sky Issues and...

      ... we arent really there yet.

      I was on Demon and last thursday took the plunge. It went well, mac code was accepted, and engineer date was given as Sep 27th. I stated that i wanted seamless transition and didnt want to be without BB for any length of time as I work from home. No problem I was advised...

      You know whats coming... I got my confirmation letters today (3 of them) -

      1. Login details
      2. Confirmation of engineer visit 27th Sep
      3. Confirmation that line will be ready for Sky and active by the 12th

      A helpful Sky guy explained (after guidance from his supervisor) that the line is 'available' for Sky BB form the 12th, but wont be activated until the 27th when the engineer comes. So no loss of service between providers.

      So True or False?

      All in they were helpful, even tho it did take 25 mins of hanging on bouncing between helpdesks to get the answer.

      Looking forward to your comments.

      msmarks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Have you got the router or is the engineer bringing it?

      If you haven't why not see if you can get them to presend it and we will help you set it up, it really is very easy




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site msmarks

      Its quite possible that its true I have checked the BT checker and I am supposed to be activated on the 7th Sept and my MAX Adsl connection is schedule to be terminated on the 12th Sept so it would seem they do overlap.

      I agree with NewsreadeR maybe you should ask the to send the router out instead and install it yourself, believe me when I say its easy I have seen the CD SkyBB send with the router and they explain the whole process for anyone to understand.

      Anyway what ever happenes good luck.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      msmarks's Avatar
      msmarks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Guys thanks for that...

      I decided to go with the sky install after reading the mixed bag of sky horror stories, with the rationale that if the engineer is here to install it he will need to deal with the issues that crop up.

      I already have a wireless 3com router and wireless card in a laptop and Imac which picks up wireless seamlessly. I may have to call on you guys to assist with the WPA (or is it WEP that sky use?) set up if teh engineer does set up everything.

      while we are talking about wireless - will the netgear router work with a 3com wireless card? I assume it should in the real world, but this is sky badged kit!

      looking forward to many posts when i move over.

      thanks again!

      msm

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your more than welcome as for the wireless card it should work fine and as for setting up WPA its very simple as you will see when you get the router but the first thing you should do is change the default password from sky to anything you like.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Have you checked on BT.com to see when the orders are in for (go to BT.com, then small and medium business -- doesn't matter if it's a residential line) and track an order. You may have to sign up to bt.com if you haven't already.

      You'll then be able to see the provide and cease dates assuming BT have them on their systems.

      BTW: I'm really not sure how clever you're being using a cheap residential service to work from home from. I hope you've got a backup option sorted out if it does go down.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION