Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

    This is a discussion on Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have finally managed to get my line fixed. Faulty BT join!! They only agreed with me when my next ...

    1. #1
      machra1961's Avatar
      machra1961 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

      I have finally managed to get my line fixed. Faulty BT join!! They only agreed with me when my next door neighbour and I could hear each others telephone conversations. Sky is now stable and speed has been inceased dramatically (160kbps last test). Question is that with the router stats below should I be getting a better speed or should I ask to be put on midi (5 a month for 8mb max or should I stay on max (16mb) at 10) Looking at this site and my line stats I think maximum speed I could get in about 9mb.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5984 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 26.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.3
      Max(Kbps): 6560 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 5984 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 188(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 188 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0846 8.6153
      L: 1512 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 334225 334223
      SFErr: 392 0
      RS: 22727322 2840895
      RSCorr: 3794987 0
      RSUnCorr: 467 0

      HEC: 306 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 80197857 0
      Data Cells: 653045 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 123 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 42 0
      Total time = 1 hours 35 min 40 sec
      SF = 334225
      CRC = 392
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 123
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 35 min 40 sec
      SF = 334225
      CRC = 392
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 123
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 40 sec
      SF = 19996
      CRC = 120
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 28
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 211
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 54
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 57
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 38
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

      Your call. Is the "unlimited" bandwidth worth the extra fiver to you?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

      Note that to get more than 8Mb, you need to pursuade Sky to move you off g.dmt and onto adsl2+. When you move to adsl2+ your attenuation will go up a couple of db.

      I doubt you'd get a stable connection above 8Mb.

      So really the question as LNB asks is do you want unlimited download or is 40Gb enough and do you need the faster upload speed that max brings?

    5. #4
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

      Yes and that too.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

      Quote Originally Posted by machra1961 View Post
      Sky is now stable and speed has been inceased dramatically (160kbps last test).
      Is that wired or wireless? Either way, with a connection speed of 5984kbps you should be seeing a download speed of ~5000kbps. Have a look at the second sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post. If wireless, you may need to do something to improve your signal as well.

      Quote Originally Posted by machra1961 View Post
      Question is that with the router stats below should I be getting a better speed or should I ask to be put on midi (5 a month for 8mb max or should I stay on max (16mb) at 10) Looking at this site and my line stats I think maximum speed I could get in about 9mb.
      9mb would be pushing it and only then if you clear up the noise on your line. If you get your line quiet then you'd get 8000kbps on Mid, so, as advised above, if you don't need the "unlimited" and slightly higher upstream speed then yes, Mid would be the right product for you.

      HTH

    7. #6
      machra1961's Avatar
      machra1961 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I ask to be put on Sky Midi

      Thanks for the info.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION