Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

    This is a discussion on I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Buy - No Ask for (free) - Yes! Never be to willing to pay for one, They might end up ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      Buy - No
      Ask for (free) - Yes!

      Never be to willing to pay for one, They might end up accepting the voluntary payment!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Parappa's Avatar
      Parappa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      ok

      thanks so much for your help ;_;

    4. #13
      Parappa's Avatar
      Parappa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      Sky wont give me a new router for some reason, they're as stubbon as hell >_< They said that "it's an urgent state of matter that you havent spoke to lv3 tech yet" etc and they said that they will call back in 2 days v_v which they're not >_<

      Can I fix this thing out myself or something?

    5. #14
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      Nope, Ask to be put through to Tier3 as you have been waiting a while!

    6. #15
      Parappa's Avatar
      Parappa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      Well they said that they're going to call back in two days but I dont believe them. Before they said "5 days..." then "24 hours" now they're saying "2 days"

      I rly wanna give up now but I know that there's some internet here, just the stupid CHAP thing is playing up. Whats the log in info sup[posed to be anyway?

    7. #16
      acoolwelshbloke's Avatar
      acoolwelshbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea Main
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Swansea, UK.
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      Why don't you try calling tier 3 yourself?

      Their direct number: 02070326352

      Or just go to staples/argos and buy a new router yourself and simply enter your login details in to that router and your away!
      Last edited by acoolwelshbloke; 24-02-07 at 05:35 PM.

    8. #17
      Parappa's Avatar
      Parappa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      O_O they have a number?!

      omg, thanks.

    9. #18
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      It might be worth calling Tier 1 again and asking them to do a tone test, there's a chance you're still connected to or have been moved back to your old provider's equipment (hence the failed authentication).
      If the tone can't be heard then ask then to transfer you to Tier 2 so you can ensure they log it to BT as a fault ASAP.

    10. #19
      jonnyboy93's Avatar
      jonnyboy93 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      I had this same problem with the CHAP authentication failures when I was first connected.

      Firstly, there is nothing wrong with the router that is making you get this. It is simply the RADIUS server (this checks your username and password, using the CHAP protocol) not having the correct details, and hence you are getting the authentication errors. tier 2 can do what they call a "Radius Check" and were able to tell me that my username and password had been rejected "several thousand times".

      When this happened, they decided I needed a new router, as they couldnt change the details on the RADIUS server so it would accept my details "for data protection reasons". After having no luck explaining to them that I didnt need a new router, they just needed to get the details correct at their end and all would be fine I resigned myself to waiting for the new router. That was 2 weeks ago, and one has not yet turned up. However, a couple of days after saying that I needed the new router, the connection magically started working. Obviously someone with a bit of sense saw what was going on and got my details correct at their end!

      Seeing as the original poster has got the 'internet' light on, and is getting the CHAP failures, then this would indicate that the line is fine, you just need to keep pestering support to sort it out at their end. Absolutely no need for another router!

    11. #20
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I got the internet and ethernet light but no internet v_v

      Sounds to me like a job for the service recovery team.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION