Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    sky max question

    This is a discussion on sky max question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all moved from 1mb bt at 29.99!!! to sky mid stats as below to mid package very happy with ...

    1. #1
      jph160's Avatar
      jph160 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: PRIORY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      BIRMINGHAM
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky max question

      Hi all

      moved from 1mb bt at 29.99!!! to sky mid stats as below to mid package very happy with sky

      can anyone advise if i would gain faster speed by moving to max package?

      cheers

      JH

      System Up Time 629:56:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1381935 1841448 0 96 772 629:55:24
      LAN 10M/100M 1699608 1311658 0 698 111 629:56:09
      WLAN 11M/54M 445748 1651363 0 124 31 629:55:59


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5504 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 14.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      Quote Originally Posted by jph160 View Post
      can anyone advise if i would gain faster speed by moving to max package?
      No - you'd get the same speed on Max.

    4. #3
      AberdeenGuy's Avatar
      AberdeenGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      I know this is totally off topic, but seeing as your question has been answered, I have one of my own. Is that uptime correct, or a software error?

      The reason I ask is because I have very similar line stats and I really hope the Sky router can hold my connection for longer than my current Belkin, which is usually a maximum of 2 days, if I'm lucky.

    5. #4
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      No - you'd get the same speed on Max.
      But don't forget that with Max you get "unlimited" downloads.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      @aberdeenguy

      On a good line there's no reason why the router should ever lose connection or need rebooting.

      On a bad line, noise margin swings can be problematical as can line errors. If these can't be sorted out then an occasional reboot may be required.

    7. #6
      jph160's Avatar
      jph160 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: PRIORY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      BIRMINGHAM
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      HI

      The Stats Were correct heres the latest would like a faster speed though.....

      System Up Time 747:03:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1546213 2061848 0 92 735 747:03:07
      LAN 10M/100M 1903222 1472632 0 665 106 747:03:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 492710 1741202 0 118 28 747:03:42


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5504 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 14.0 db

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      Sorry but your attenuation at 50db limits you to a maximum connection of ~6000kbps, fractionally more than your stats report.

      One thing that does stand out though is in the second set you posted your noise margin is worryingly low. Changes through the day are entirely normal but you do need to ensure the bottom of the cycle isn't too low. 5.6db is perilously close to the point where disconnections can occur. If not disconnected you can certainly expect a fairly "choppy" web experience at this low level.

      Have a look at the first sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post for more info. You'll find a couple of methods described there to lock your router at a higher noise margin range. Better a small sacrifice of speed for a more stable connection?

      If you want to try and get the full 6000kbps potential of your connection (and reduce the noise margin swing) you'll have to eliminate what noise you can on your line. have a look at the faceplate and cabling help forum. You'll need to run some tests with your test socket to see what's possible.

      HTH

    9. #8
      AberdeenGuy's Avatar
      AberdeenGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky max question

      Quote Originally Posted by jph160 View Post
      HI

      The Stats Were correct heres the latest would like a faster speed though.....

      System Up Time 747:03:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1546213 2061848 0 92 735 747:03:07
      LAN 10M/100M 1903222 1472632 0 665 106 747:03:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 492710 1741202 0 118 28 747:03:42


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5504 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 14.0 db
      So far so good for me as far as maintaining sync in concerned. Your stats are good for your attenuation.

      System Up Time 69:13:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 672350 899003 0 770 15647 69:05:59
      LAN 10M/100M 1851233 1454354 0 8061 690 69:13:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5888 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 24.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.1 db 23.0 db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION