Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 54

    I have just been activated...

    This is a discussion on I have just been activated... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; zola1 have u tried diffrent times of days to see how ur noise margin is ie at busy times does ...

    1. #41
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I have just been activated...

      zola1
      have u tried diffrent times of days to see how ur noise margin is ie at busy times does it go down or is it always 5.2?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      zola1's Avatar
      zola1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      yes the router is resyncing like you say ii probably got a bad line coming into my home but how did i have download speeds up around the 4.5 mbps mark for 3 days.Strange also the noise margin is always the same no matter what time of day

    4. #43
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      @zola - whats the line like when you are making normal telephone calls ? When I first moved to this house our telephone calls were crackly. I was stood outside one night talking to a neighbour and noticed very small arcing where my phone line was clipped to the outside wall. logged a call with bt online and they replaced the line from the box in the street to my house foc. this was before my sky days tho but its worth eliminating. If you can hear noise during a telephone call its worth getting on to them - just dont mention your broadband probs or they wont be interested.
      cheers
      dave

    5. #44
      acoolwelshbloke's Avatar
      acoolwelshbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea Main
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Swansea, UK.
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      You will not get speeds of 4.5mbps with a downstream noise margin of around 5.0db but the noise margin does go up and down through out the day.

      You should be getting better speeds than 0.5mbps!

      As dholdi stated above, dial 17070 from your bt line and choose option 2!

      See if you can hear any noise on your line!
      Last edited by acoolwelshbloke; 20-02-07 at 11:29 PM.

    6. #45
      zola1's Avatar
      zola1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      there seems to be no problem with the telephone line.Also the download speeds were around 510kbs i don,t know what that translates into
      Last edited by zola1; 20-02-07 at 11:30 PM.

    7. #46
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I have just been activated...

      i reckon it could be a problem between ur exchange and your propert [connecting to ur main /test socket should have increased ur noise level as it didnt then no matter what u do in your house will not improve signal noise coming in [a pone to bt telling of intemitent crackly lines and noisy /breakup of your phone conversations should lead to a bt investigation [remeber its intermitent no rhyme or reason [bt should do a line test ]

    8. #47
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      @zola - is that kbps or kBps ?

    9. #48
      zola1's Avatar
      zola1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      dholdi it,s kBps also did the line test and not a crackle to be heard.I,ve only had the BT line for a month and half which was newly installed
      Last edited by zola1; 21-02-07 at 12:13 AM.

    10. #49
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      hi m8, unless i've had too many glasses of wine 510kBps is pretty good try this link and post ur results
      Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed
      cheers
      dave

    11. #50
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have just been activated...

      510kBps is equal to about 3.9Mbs so you are getting a good speed

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION