Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Showtime!!

    This is a discussion on Showtime!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Have only been activated for 1 whole day (even though Sky say I should be active in 15 days!!) ...

    1. #1
      pwoolley's Avatar
      pwoolley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Showtime!!

      Hi

      Have only been activated for 1 whole day (even though Sky say I should be active in 15 days!!) Questions I need to ask are:-

      1)I am getting quite a few drop outs and the modem also resetting, why?

      2)Training Status shows "ShowTime" - is this suppose to be?

      3)Is there a Training period and should I worry about the stats below?

      The router is plugged directly into the master, and prior to sky had damn good connection.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.9 13.0
      Attn(dB): 36.0 23.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 9.9
      Max(Kbps): 10240 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 26935 26933
      SFErr: 3 0
      RS: 3663192 228930
      RSCorr: 8487 0
      RSUnCorr: 21 0

      HEC: 2 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 8743843 0
      Data Cells: 1493298 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 8 min 4 sec
      SF = 26935
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 1 day time = 8 min 4 sec
      SF = 26935
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 4 sec
      SF = 26935
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0



      System Up Time 00:40:51
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 163632 200804 0 26351 96231 00:37:39
      LAN 10M/100M 403 0 0 52 0 00:40:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 203054 165862 0 90788 25454 00:40:39

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 12.9 db 13.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      dont worry there is a 10 day tranning period so pationace is the key

    4. #3
      pwoolley's Avatar
      pwoolley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      Even when connected on LLU?

    5. #4
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      lol im not sure i thought u wer on connect lol emm sum 1 will know

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      Only Connect has a 10 day training period.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Showtime!!

      Quote Originally Posted by wireless-andy View Post
      dont worry there is a 10 day tranning period so pationace is the key
      There is only a 10 day training period on the Connect package - this does not apply to Base, Mid or MAX




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Showtime!!

      Quote Originally Posted by pwoolley View Post
      Even when connected on LLU?
      Nope - only on the Connect package - as Saturday beat me to it




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      @pwoolley

      Hopefully you'll forgive me for not repeating the same information that has been posted elsewhere - take a little time and have a look through the forum. The first sticky in my signature would be a good starting point (especially to answer your drop out query).

      In summary though, you are connected with G.DMT and capped to 8096kbps. Were you on ADSL2+, assuming a relatively noise free line you could expect to connect at ~13500kbps.

      It isn't possible to give a meaningful assessment of your stats as your router was only up for 8 minutes. However, in that time it was reporting line errors.

      "Showtime" just means your router is synced with the exchange.
      Last edited by Saturday; 17-02-07 at 06:22 PM.

    10. #9
      pwoolley's Avatar
      pwoolley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      Hi Chaps

      Thank you for your replies.

      Prior to coming over to sky my line was fine and stayed connected and the router never once rebooted itself unlike this one. Nothing has changed during the transition.

      Only got 8 mins as the line drop outs a lot. Is this something that Tier 3 should get involved or shall I leave it for a few more days and see if the line has settled down somewhat?

      Regards

      Paul

      ps - I have checked out Saturdays stickes and have followed them to the letter, most of it was already done (master socket and test socket - changed filters etc)

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Showtime!!

      If your connection is dropping very frequently/regularly then you may be suffering from the UPnP bug.

      To fix this log into your router, select UPnP from the menu and untick "turn UPnP on". Then reboot the router and the PC.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION