Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 57 of 58 FirstFirst ... 74755565758 LastLast
    Results 561 to 570 of 578

    Activated now then please post info here

    This is a discussion on Activated now then please post info here within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Post a query in the Help forum, showing your present stats. This part of the forum is not for help....

    1. #561
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Post a query in the Help forum, showing your present stats. This part of the forum is not for help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #562
      Razmataz's Avatar
      Razmataz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley, Rotherham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      ok will do thanks

    4. #563
      Nostromo's Avatar
      Nostromo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Order Date 23/03/11
      New Connection
      or
      Migration
      Router Arrived 20/04/11
      Connection Due 18/04/11
      Actually Connected 20/11/04
      Up sync speed 945
      Down sync speed 5046
      Distance from the exchange 1.6km Straight Line

    5. #564
      Ssscrudddy's Avatar
      Ssscrudddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Oder date. 9th April 2011
      New Connection (including new phone line)
      Router arrived 20th April (faulty Sagemcom F@ST 2304N)
      Connection due 27th April
      Actually connected 27th April
      Up sync speed 605 kbps
      Down sync speed 4095 kbps
      Distance from the exchange 1 mile straight line, 1.5 miles by road.

      DLM has started, day 1

      Up sync speed 945 kbps
      Down sync speed 8624 kbps

      Edit. DLM has finished,

      Up Sync speed 798
      Down sync speed 8192
      Last edited by Ssscrudddy; 09-05-11 at 11:36 AM.
      Is the pub open yet?

    6. #565
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Order Date: 13th April
      New Connection
      Router Arrived: 20th April
      Connection Due: 4th May (Due to holiday)
      Actually Connected: 3rd May
      Up sync speed: 605kbps
      Down sync speed: 4095kbps
      Distance from the exchange: 1 mile via road

      I was a little worried DLM wasn't working, but after reading posts here it's put my mind at rest, I guess I'm just too impatient. I'm hoping to get around 7000kbps sync, I've only just moved here but I lived here about 2 years go and I'm sure I got around 6500kbps then. Router stats are here:

    7. #566
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Your noise margin is extremely low, your speed is more likely to go down, rather than up. Plug into your test socket if you have one and take the stats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Make sure every thing you have plugged into the phone line is running through a filter, especially the Sky digibox. This is often terminated in a splitter, make sure the splitter is plugged into the filter and not the other way round.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #567
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Ok thanks. My current set-up is: BT Socket > Extension (6m approx) > Filter > Router/Phone

      I have just moved the router downstairs and plugged into the test socket with no other equipment plugged in and the stats are like this now:



      So is higher better for the noise margin?

    9. #568
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Quote Originally Posted by andy_mk3 View Post
      So is higher better for the noise margin?
      At this point, yeah.

      Are you still running the extension cable from the test socket with those stats? If so, ensure you re-take the stats with the following set-up:

      test socket > microfilter > short grey dsl cable > router

    10. #569
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      At this point, yeah.

      Are you still running the extension cable from the test socket with those stats? If so, ensure you re-take the stats with the following set-up:

      test socket > microfilter > short grey dsl cable > router
      Yep I'm running it straight from the test socket now, no extension.

      It's staying at around 6.1-6.3dB downstream so far.

      Edit: I just replaced the faceplate on the master socket (It's the Openreach one with the bell circuit filter) and now I have this which is an improvement:



      Afaik DLM hasn't kicked in yet, my connection has only been active for about 36 hours though, so hopefully it'll start shortly.
      Last edited by andy_mk3; 04-05-11 at 11:19 PM.

    11. #570
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      I'd keep it how it is at the moment. Although the SNR isn't exactly great, the profile that newly provisioned lines start on are conservative, settings-wise, so you'll probably still see an increase once DLM starts optimising.

     

     
    Page 57 of 58 FirstFirst ... 74755565758 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION