Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 54 of 58 FirstFirst ... 4445253545556 ... LastLast
    Results 531 to 540 of 578

    Activated now then please post info here

    This is a discussion on Activated now then please post info here within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by James_Mitchell My DLM has now finished here. Here's my final line stats: Code: ADSL Link Downstream Upstream ...

    1. #531
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Quote Originally Posted by James_Mitchell View Post
      My DLM has now finished here. Here's my final line stats:

      Code:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 23065 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.0db 6.9db
      Noise Margin 7.5db 17.2db


      Just wish my upload speed was a little higher!!
      Amazing!
      Ring sky and tell them to uncap your upstream.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #532
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      @James:

      If you call in for the upstream to be uncapped, don't be surprised if someone caps the downstream to where it should be (20480kbps). Personally, I'd keep it as it is and enjoy what you have - not particularly worth it for 200-300kbps on your upstream for the risk of losing 3mbps downstream.

    4. #533
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCEAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Earby
      Posts
      738
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Thanks for the replies. Very happy with what I've got, much much better than the 8048 down + 380 up or what ever it was I had previously with Plus Net.

    5. #534
      bellboy's Avatar
      bellboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilwinning,North Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDMultiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Hi guys,

      I've had no end of trouble trying to get my phone and BB set up at my new house.

      Luckily the lady we bought from already had Sky+ so all i had to do was plug my box in. She thought she was being helpful by leaving her phone and BB on (both with sky) until the day we moved in but it has caused more of a hinderance.

      We moved in on the 07/01, i phoned Sky to transfer my phone and BB only to be told that there was an active line already there because the women had only given her 30 days notice.

      Anyway i waited patiently and eventually got my phone line activated on the 11/02. I then phoned Sky to ask when my BB would be activated only to be told there was no order put through for BB even though on the 07/01 this was my main concern so i could work from home as my wife is due to give birth.

      Enough ranting. I finally got my router etc through on Sat there but found out my line isn't going to be active until the 02/03 even though the previous owner of the house was a Sky phone and BB customer.

      Is there anyway Sky can fasttrack this activation for me???

    6. #535
      cuke2u's Avatar
      cuke2u is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SkyQ hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Hi, recently activated and here are my stats:

      Connection Speed
      Down:16382 kbps
      Up:1118 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      Down:22.0db
      Up:12.7db

      Noise Margin
      Down:7.3db
      Up:8.7db

      Should I be getting a higher connection speed?
      Thanks,
      Cuke

    7. #536
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      If DLM is still running you may get a bit more. If it is finished, then it looks like that is all you will get. If our router is resyncing between 2 and 3 in the morning, then DLM is still running.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #537
      cuke2u's Avatar
      cuke2u is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SkyQ hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Hi, thanks for your reply, yes DLM is still running, I'd rather hope we would get more as I'm only about 600m from the exchange and had the max speed under +net, over 8mbps...
      Cuke

    9. #538
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      over 8mbps.
      You have already got twice that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #539
      cuke2u's Avatar
      cuke2u is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SkyQ hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Hi, I know, but then I guess I want more please
      Chris

    11. #540
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Well Oliver, sorry Chris , DLM takes a few days to get close to the max speed, so don't panic yet. Check this forum for tips on making the best of your connection.

      Also, although you might be 600m from your exchange, this might not be the distance that your telephone line travels. It is uncommon for telephone line to run the shortest possible route from the exchange to your home.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 54 of 58 FirstFirst ... 4445253545556 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION