Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 45 of 58 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast
    Results 441 to 450 of 578

    Activated now then please post info here

    This is a discussion on Activated now then please post info here within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I have been activated today (10 hours ago) on the unlimited package. Here are my stats: ADSL Link ...

    1. #441
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Hi All,

      I have been activated today (10 hours ago) on the unlimited package. Here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.0 db 11.0 db
      Noise Margin 26.2 db 14.0 db


      What speeds am I likely to end up with?


      Thanks

      Pdog
      Last edited by Pdog; 01-06-10 at 08:01 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #442
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      18-19Mb looks possible. If you are not using a filtered faceplate and have more than one telephone point, try your stats in the Test socket. Post your stats from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #443
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Thanks for the reply.

      I have already removed all the extensions, and fitted a filtered faceplate.

      Will I have to wait until DLM has completed before seeing the speed increase?

    5. #444
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Yes, DLM will kick in within 3 days of going 'live' and your speed will increase. Don't reboot, unplug or power off your router until DLM has finished.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #445
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Thanks again,

      I've told the missus not to switch the router off

      I'll need to search this forum, about DLM as I don't know too much about it. I did have Sky Broadband over a year ago now, before they introduced DLM.

    7. #446
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Quote Originally Posted by Pdog View Post
      Thanks again,

      I've told the missus not to switch the router off

      I'll need to search this forum, about DLM as I don't know too much about it. I did have Sky Broadband over a year ago now, before they introduced DLM.
      DLM has been there a few years, i know from experience it has been there at least 2 years! if your really impatient you can call and get your line reconfigured manually which has to be done alot of the time after DLM anyway. generally takes around 72 hours for DLM to kick in and then it will run for 10 days on average if you dont mind waiting. looking at your stats it looks like you will get very good speeds

    8. #447
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Thanks for the info, it may have been around two years ago but, I had their 16MB package, maybe they were going to introduce DLM to existing users? I just remember reading about it before I left Sky

      anyway Stats this morning are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8185 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.5 db 10.1 db
      Noise Margin 16.1 db 14.5 db

      I was concerned this morning as I have fitted a filtered faceplate and just attempted to make a call on my cordless phone and it was crackling

      However it was the first time I had used this handset and it did clear up during the call, i'll make another call to test.

      Thanks again

    9. #448
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      you have been switched over to adsl2plus now anyway, stats are looking good! test another handset if you can, if you dial 17070 you can run a quiet line test and check for crackles, pops, hissing and general noise on the line

    10. #449
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      well after two days, my connection reached 9123KB download and upload was around 762 from what I can remember.

      Checked this afternoon and noticed the Broadband light on the router was orange, after waiting an hour and no change. I decided to call Sky to see if there was an outage.

      There was no outage, I was advised to bounce the router which I did, and lo and behold it came back up.

      Whilst I was on the phone they ramped up the speed too. They advised the system could only take my line up to 16mb/17mb currently. Which I am more than happy with.

      Here are my current stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16986 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.5 db 10.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 10.0 db


      They did say give it a few more days and call us back and we may be able to take it higher?

      What do you think, could it go higher?

      Cheers

      Pdog

    11. #450
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      The upstream could perhaps go a little higher, but your downstream is about as high as it'll go.

     

     
    Page 45 of 58 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION