Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 42 of 58 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast
    Results 411 to 420 of 578

    Activated now then please post info here

    This is a discussion on Activated now then please post info here within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you have put it back in the other socket you speed/ noise margin will drop. I can only repeat ...

    1. #411
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      If you have put it back in the other socket you speed/ noise margin will drop. I can only repeat my advice above, buy and use a filtered faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #412
      petepm's Avatar
      petepm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Ordered Sky Unlimited 20mb - 07/02/010
      Modem arrived - 10/02/10
      Activated - 14/02/10

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 506 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5 db 13.1 db
      Noise Margin 14.5 db 22.5 db

      Distance from exchange - 528 metres

      DLM hasn't started.

    4. #413
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Distance from exchange - 528 metres


      Your noise margin looks a bit low for your speed/attenuation. Check it in your Test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #414
      petepm's Avatar
      petepm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 13.0 db
      Noise Margin 16.4 db 22.5 db

      Just moved the ADSL filter as it was plugged into an extension rather than directly into the faceplate and that has altered the downstream noise margin. Is it still worth trying the test socket? Apologies in advance if that is a dumb question )

    6. #415
      petepm's Avatar
      petepm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Have now tried the test socket, the stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 13.0 db
      Noise Margin 16.1 db 22.5 db

      Has anyone any idea what sort of speeds I can expect after DLM with these stats? Thanks in advance.

    7. #416
      ferrari312's Avatar
      ferrari312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waverly
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Hi all,

      I was on the basic package and upgraded to Unlimited. After waiting 10 days with no correspondence, I emailed them and 2 days later a sky router arrived.
      Not sure if my line is still in DLM(?) phase as Iíve had have no correspondence from sky except when I sent them an email.

      My lines stats are ( from a Netgear DM111Pv2);
      Line Mode ADSL2+ A Line State UP
      Line Power State L0 Line Up Time 81:02:47
      Line Coding Enable Line Up Count 1


      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 10240 kbps 870 kbps
      Attainable Line Rate 16784 kbps 1032 kbps
      Noise Margin 17.9 dB 8.5 dB
      Line Attenuation 24.0 dB 13.7 dB
      Output Power 18.4 dB 12.4 dB



      From what if can gather my line stats are decent - can anyone help confirm if the line is good, and should my line now be faster than 10Mb which its currently set?
      note, my 2 son year old son switched off the modem at the wall so its only been up 81+ hours - anything thatís dangerous and he must investigate it , nightmare !!!!

      Feedback would be appreciated.

      Regards.

      Paul.

    8. #417
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Your downstream speed is capped. Phone Sky and ask them to configure your line as DLM has not left it with its best speed. I would not advise emailing, you are more likely to be capped firther.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #418
      ferrari312's Avatar
      ferrari312 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waverly
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      Thanks for that, i will give them a call.

      Update:just called them and they said they would up the line speed to around 16.2Mbps.

      I was hoping i would get closer to 18Mbps but i guess thats just being greedy.
      Last edited by ferrari312; 22-02-10 at 02:04 PM.

    10. #419
      KeB's Avatar
      KeB
      KeB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      I have just been connected this afternoon with the following stats:

      DSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 13 db

      Have I been capped at 2meg or is it just a case of wait for the 10 days?

      Thanks!

    11. #420
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Activated now then please post info here

      You need to let DLM do it's thing although with those stats you won't get much more, have you tried the router in the TEST socket yet?

     

     
    Page 42 of 58 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION