Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

    This is a discussion on Sky say LLU on line but there isn't! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Trying to get SkyBB on my parents line; they're currently cancelling their BB with Tiscali. Every time we phone ...

    1. #1
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      Hi,

      Trying to get SkyBB on my parents line; they're currently cancelling their BB with Tiscali. Every time we phone Sky and give them the MAC code etc they say the line is locked to LLU. Now to my knowledge LLU is local loop unbundled and looking on The Broadband Resource the exchange which is Stowmarket has not one provider enabled on it. BT and Tiscali have said that the line is clear but Sky say it's not!!!

      any help???

      Thanks...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      put there phone number in there and tell us what it says

      Prodigy Networks

    4. #3
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      Thanks..... here is the output

      BT exchange : STOWMARKET
      Real time check : Yes

      Line speed capabilities

      Rate adaptive (250k and 500k) : Green
      Fixed Rate (1000k and 2000k) : Green
      MAX speed (upto 8000k) : Green (4500 kbps)

      250k, 500k, 1000k, 2000k and 4500k are all available on this line.


      Line status

      This line has a Shared Metalic Path Facility (SMPF) on it - either the broadband or phone service utilises an LLU service while BT provides the other service normally.

      Current Service Provider : <Please login for this feature>

      what does this mean

    5. #4
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      Line status

      This line has a Shared Metalic Path Facility (SMPF) on it - either the broadband or phone service utilises an LLU service while BT provides the other service normally.


      That bit tells me there is still a tag on the line

      Is the phone line with BT?

      another thing to look at is go back on
      The Broadband Resource

      and go on the availabilty checker and enter the phone number and postcode and post the results
      it should be something like
      Congratulations, you are in a broadband enabled area.
      However, your line is currently unbundled by an LLU operator such as Be, Bulldog or Easynet (SMPF LLU). Moving to another provider may require a cease and re-provide, which may result in loss of service for up to two weeks.

      The following services are available in your location:

      BT Wholesale ADSL
      BT Wholesale ADSL Max
      BT Wholesale SDSL
      Bulldog LLU
      Sky Broadband / Easynet LLU
      Tiscali LLU
      21CN PSTN migration due Apr-Jun 2009
      21CN IP migration due Oct-Dec 2010

    6. #5
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      right this is what I get from there..

      IP14TN at 18:08 15/02/2007

      Congratulations, you are in a broadband enabled area.
      However, your line is currently unbundled by an LLU operator such as Be, Bulldog or Easynet (SMPF LLU). Moving to another provider may require a cease and re-provide, which may result in loss of service for up to two weeks.

      The following services are available in your location:

      BT Wholesale ADSL
      BT Wholesale ADSL Max
      21CN PSTN migration due Jan-Mar 2011
      21CN IP migration due Jan-Mar 2011

      Please select the options on the left for more information about broadband availability at your location.

      What I don't understand is that no operator's have LLU on that exchange The Broadband Resource

    7. #6
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      it sounds like tiscali have unbundled the exchange but not updated the information, because it would not say Shared Metalic Path Facility (SMPF) on your line if it wasnt on llu


      and have you ceased with tiscali because you said that you got a mac code which sounds to me like you are trying to migrate

      what does it say when you check availabilty on sky broadband page?

      we getting there

    8. #7
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      getting there eventually...

      Sky says it's LLU enabled on the website too...

      Tiscali says it's not LLU which just confuses the matter even more!!

    9. #8
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      and have you ceased with tiscali because you said that you got a mac code which sounds to me like you are trying to migrate

    10. #9
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      yep, trying to migrate but Sky put the block on because of this LLU

    11. #10
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say LLU on line but there isn't!

      I dont think sky are excepting migration from llu connections....they didnt with me and i was on ukonline which uses same equipment as sky.

      you will have to cease on your tiscali connection and once that is cleared then you can order sky....could take upto ten days for the cease to go through

      but check the new rules that came in affect on the 14th to see if sky are supposed to accept mac codes for llu connections.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION