Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 121

    Dismally Poor Speed

    This is a discussion on Dismally Poor Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by susie God I spoke too soon. It's dropped back down again and I haven't moved the PC ...

    1. #71
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      God I spoke too soon. It's dropped back down again and I haven't moved the PC away from the router yet. Latest speed test down to 300 again. Why? If I got such an improvement in performance when I first changed the router what has caused it to revert? I am totally perplexed.
      You're not taking that kiss back though!

      *sigh* Sorry Susie. Let me have a cup of tea and I'll have a think (just got in from work).

      Try swapping the old one back, the same thing will probably happen...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      I've just put the ethernet back and it hasn't helped, other than to push my speed up to a rip-roaring 400 or so.

    4. #73
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      I've just put the ethernet back and it hasn't helped, other than to push my speed up to a rip-roaring 400 or so.
      Try rebooting the router (log into http://192.168.0.1 go to the diagnostics page and click reboot). Give it a couple of minutes and try (the internet) again.

    5. #74
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Job done. Speed now back up to around 10MB (ethernet connected) but I'm not counting my chickens this time

      I'm going to wander off and occupy myself with something else for a while and then come back and see how it's looking. Incidentally, why is it that the wireless network defaults to belkin54g all the time? This only started happening after I ran the TCP Optimiser.

    6. #75
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      I'm going to wander off and occupy myself with something else for a while and then come back and see how it's looking. Incidentally, why is it that the wireless network defaults to belkin54g all the time? This only started happening after I ran the TCP Optimiser.
      Can't really say why, but we should be able to fix it.

      Open Network Connections, right-click Wireless Network, properties, Wireless Networks.

      In the Preferred Networks box, move your SKYxxxxx up to the top.

    7. #76
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      A couple of hours away from my PC - having my hair cut so I feel great and would like to think I look great too "goddess smilie".

      Machine back in service and speed a whopping 11.5MB via ethernet. Going commando on the wireless shows big variation - 3.2MB on Elwell and 9.8MB on BroadbandMax . I think the time has come for me to lug my kit back into its rightful place and cross all fingers .

    8. #77
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Best of luck there Susie (looking good )

    9. #78
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by stevelaw View Post
      Best of luck there Susie (looking good )
      Awww shucks

      All set up in the allotted space and so far speeds are exactly as per earlier post. I 'tested' my connection by hitting YouTube and watching some random all time favourite music videos (won't say what they were, but trust me they were naff ). The same process undertaken last night was totally impossible with my mega low speed - I was getting two notes of music and one frame of video before it jammed and spent another minute loading the next two notes/one frame.

      I'm not cracking open the champers just yet (based on premature celebration earlier...) but when I do there's more than one glass in there for you Steve. Thank you so much for your patience. I suspect, however, that you haven't got rid of me yet

    10. #79
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Forgive me for throwing in the proverebial spanner, but your router is passworded and named from the router mac address. So plugging in another shouldnt work! It would have a new settings, or put it this way the old one wouldnt work if Sky had changed.


      Is someone going to correct me in that sky clone and send out?

    11. #80
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      I was prompted to enter new details - i.e. SSID and network key - which I did. I am going to call Sky and tell them that I have purloined the new router so what else should I be doing? All I know is that I have now got an almost scarily fast connection and that (apart from the scariness) is what I was after.
      Danger! Idiot at work.

     

     
    Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION