Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 13 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 121

    Dismally Poor Speed

    This is a discussion on Dismally Poor Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by susie I have run the test with the ethernet cable and guess what? Exactly the same readings. ...

    1. #51
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      I have run the test with the ethernet cable and guess what? Exactly the same readings. Is it still running purely on wireless and not picking up on the ethernet connection?
      Easy way to check that.

      Start, Control Panel, Network Connections - what can you see?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Don't forget you will have to reboot the router for it to pick up a new connection!

    4. #53
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      There are several things there:

      - 1394 connection, connected, net adaptor

      - Wireless network connection, connected, wireless LAN PCI

      - Local area connection, Intel(R) blah blah, connected

      - Internet connection, connected

      What this all means, I haven't a clue. It also says MSN unavailable, device missing but that has nothing to do with this I am guessing.

    5. #54
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Don't forget you will have to reboot the router for it to pick up a new connection!
      I haven't rebooted the router, only the PC. What do I need to do?

    6. #55
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      - Wireless network connection, connected, wireless LAN PCI

      - Local area connection, Intel(R) blah blah, connected
      Both the ethernet and wireless are connected (you don't need to reboot the router).

      To make doubly sure though, go to start, run and type cmd then click OK
      in the black window type ipconfig (and press return), what do you see?

      Try right-clicking the wireless connection and select disable

      Then try the Internet/test again

    7. #56
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by stevelaw View Post
      Both the ethernet and wireless are connected (you don't need to reboot the router).

      To make doubly sure though, go to start, run and type cmd then click OK
      in the black window type ipconfig (and press return), what do you see?
      Both are there. I will now disable the wireless connection and see what happens.

    8. #57
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by stevelaw View Post
      Try right-clicking the wireless connection and select disable

      Then try the Internet/test again
      Sky test data almost exactly the same. The only thing that has changed is noise margin now 14.5/14.0. Is this looking like a router problem?

    9. #58
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      I will now disable the wireless connection...
      LOL, you sounded just like a surgeon there

      I will now sever the main artery...

    10. #59
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by stevelaw View Post
      LOL, you sounded just like a surgeon there

      I will now sever the main artery...
      I may be severing my own main arteries if I don't get this sorted out before I go insane

    11. #60
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      Sky test data almost exactly the same. The only thing that has changed is noise margin now 14.5/14.0. Is this looking like a router problem?
      I meant do an Internet (Download) speed test. The router statistics shouldn't change (or change much).

      But regardless, there's no harm in trying with the new router (do try an ethernet speed test on the old one first though). Try the ethernet and the wireless (don't forget to right-click the wireless connection and enable).
      Last edited by stevelaw; 15-02-07 at 04:13 PM.

     

     
    Page 6 of 13 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION