Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 121

    Dismally Poor Speed

    This is a discussion on Dismally Poor Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by NewsreadeR Have you tried my previous post with the links, thats 2 things you can try to ...

    1. #21
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Have you tried my previous post with the links, thats 2 things you can try to sort the wireless out.
      Yes, I've taken the tip from the second thread and now I have to read up on what I do with the programme I've loaded!
      Last edited by susie; 14-02-07 at 11:05 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Cool - between us all we will sort you out (pardon the pun)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #23
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      Never forget you are talking to an idiot so half of what you say to me will go straight over my head!
      Not to worry, tell us what you can we'll get there eventually

      The PC is an HP 7635 - will that indicate what wireless card it carries?
      Not directly but a bit of searching tells us its 802.11g anyway. (don't worry about it )

      The wireless aerial - is that the small one that comes with the PC as opposed to the one sticking out of the top of the router? The PC aerial has been moved around in search of improved performance but that hasn't made any difference. It's currently stickied to my speaker soundbox and is not pointing towards the PC.
      I was thinking the one on the router mainly but either. Point them both straight up in the air if they aren't (its a common mistake to point them towards each other or in the direction you want to "send" the signal).

      Signal strength - I ran my cursor over the wireless icon thingy bottom right of my screen and it said "speed 54.0Mpbs, signal strength very good".
      Hmm. Very odd. All appears to be in order... Try that first link NewsreadeR posts above. (I hate remote support, I much prefer to be hands on, I'm trying desperately to think through what we can check... I might have to get my laptop out (coz that's wireless ))

      I'm fighting a losing battle aren't I?
      We shall fight them on the beaches... Stiff upper lip Susie it might take time but one of us will get you sorted I'm, sure of it.

    5. #24
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Try unstickying from the speaker - that could cause interference etc
      It's been in several locations to little effect - and my sound is not switched on. I only bother with sound for music and games. I will move the aerial to yet another location but there's only so far the (very short) cable will stretch!

    6. #25
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      The magnets in the speaker (although not turned on) could cause interference




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #26
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by stevelaw View Post

      We shall fight them on the beaches... Stiff upper lip Susie it might take time but one of us will get you sorted I'm, sure of it.
      I think I may cry - thank you so much

    8. #27
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Susie, did you read my first post, I didnt ask you to run cables, what those devices do is use your electrical sockets as your network. ie your cable is already ran you simply plug them in.

      BUT... your problem is now going to be that youre starting to run into technical solutions and as you said you not very techy. You got any friends who could maybe help abit? We can point you in the right direction youre going to have to physically do things though.

    9. #28
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Hugh, I must admit I didn't realise that's what that link was myself. Not something I've ever had a go with, but looks very cool - I wonder if I can contrive getting it fitted in one of my schools ... Looks like an ideal solution (how much technical knowledge is needed to set those up?)

      Anyway, Susie, in the mean time, maybe we should go back to the beginning for a sec? How were you measuring your speeds?

      Have you got a software firewall? (i.e. McAfee, Norton, ZoneAlarm)

      Do you have any anti-virus or anti-spyware programs? It might be an idea to download Ad-Aware and AVG and do a scan with each, just in case (more of that elimination stuff )

      I also find it slightly amusing/confusing/worrying that sky told you you were getting 5M when you should be a poster girl for Sky Broadband with that connection (It's 15M not 5!)
      Last edited by stevelaw; 14-02-07 at 11:01 PM.

    10. #29
      susie's Avatar
      susie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Enfield
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      OK, I'm measuring speed via Dan Elwell's test, but I have tried others and the results are much the same (plus I did that Sky test you pointed me towards).

      I run Zone Alarm Security Suite for firewall, spyware and anti virus. I occasionally run my system through the Norton free check and/or Spybot just for a 'belt and braces' approach. I also have System Mechanic to healthcheck things. Pananoid, moi?

      I've never been a poster girl before - do I get to keep the shoes? I assume that there are shoes and it's not that kind of poster.....

    11. #30
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dismally Poor Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by susie View Post
      OK, I'm measuring speed via Dan Elwell's test, but I have tried others and the results are much the same (plus I did that Sky test you pointed me towards).
      Okay, no worries there then.

      I run Zone Alarm Security Suite for firewall, spyware and anti virus. I occasionally run my system through the Norton free check and/or Spybot just for a 'belt and braces' approach. I also have System Mechanic to healthcheck things. Pananoid, moi?
      Heh, not bad (you're starting to lose the "helpless non-techie" argument here you understand ) I use Zone Alarm Pro, is the Suite different? (I wouldn't trust ZA for spyware/virus detection, not on its own anyway, but I don't know the suite and its better than nothing.)

      I've never been a poster girl before - do I get to keep the shoes? I assume that there are shoes and it's not that kind of poster.....
      Well, you might think that but I couldn't possibly comment - it might help with all the disgruntled customers though

      Seriously though I'm struggling to think why you might possibly be getting that huge difference between the Router connection speed and the wireless connection speed. I'm stumped. Do you know anyone with a (wireless) laptop that can connect to your router and run some speed tests (both wireless and wired).

      Everyone else, is there any point in me even considering thinking about mentioning asking for a Sky Engineer to visit?

     

     
    Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION