Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Telephone extension socket drops connection

This is a discussion on Telephone extension socket drops connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have a master telephone socket, and an extension socket, both have the sky filters fitted to them. The sky ...

XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks

Telephone extension socket drops connection

I have a master telephone socket, and an extension socket, both have the sky filters fitted to them. The sky router is connected to the extension socket, but it keeps dropping the connection. After trying several things, like changing filters, wires (which didnt work), I moved the PC and router and connected the sky router to the master socket (as I wanted to eliminate the extension socket). I have had no problems for around a week. This therefore implies that there is a problem with the extension socket (I used the same filters and wires, so know its not them).

My questions is, can I do anything to the extension socket that will help it maintain the connection. I know there are sockets available that have the filter "built-in", will these help? Is there anything else I can try.

BTW in both instance the router was connected directly to the PC, I do not use wireless functionality...I have disabled it.

Thanks in advance.
      Last edited by XPUser; 14-02-07 at 02:30 PM.

2. Advertisement
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Thanks
      Blog Entries

Re: Telephone extension socket drops connection

Hi