Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

    This is a discussion on UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by NewsreadeR So what happens if you want to move from: Nildram - Pipex - F2S = All ...

    1. #11
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      So what happens if you want to move from:

      Nildram - Pipex - F2S = All same ISP technically same as Sky / Easynet
      add Bulldog to that list
      "To help would be a great adventure"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      Quote Originally Posted by jb51053 View Post
      Guess not
      Baah they need a man that can sort things in Easynet
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #13
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      SKY UK-ONLINE and EASYNET are all the same m8, SKY bought UKO but EASYNET still do the business customers and SKY do the public side.


      So the answer to your question is, you are on an LLU line.

    5. #14
      kevin_g's Avatar
      kevin_g is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coatbridge
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      Quote Originally Posted by sc0tsman View Post
      SKY UK-ONLINE and EASYNET are all the same m8, SKY bought UKO but EASYNET still do the business customers and SKY do the public side.


      So the answer to your question is, you are on an LLU line.
      Well not according to UKOL, the dude at Sky and the LLU Checker tool we have at work. UKOL are LLU capable, as is my local exchange, but that doesn't necessarily mean all their customers are on an LLU line.

    6. #15
      kevin_g's Avatar
      kevin_g is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coatbridge
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      UPDATE:

      Hi Guys, thought I'd fire up a quick update on my Sky/UKOL adventure.

      So far everything seems to be going ok. Last Thursday I had a letter from Sky saying that BT have set my switchover date as 22nd Feb. It also said I should wait an additional 3 working days to be absolutely sure.

      Yesterday I received my NetGear router from Sky, so it seems like I am being successfuly switched from UK Online to SkyBB using a MAC code. I'll post again when the switchover happens, and I'll keep you updated if there are any developments in the interim.

    7. #16
      kevin_g's Avatar
      kevin_g is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coatbridge
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      Well, there you have it folks. A successful migration from UK Online to SkyBB Max in under 10 days
      I'm getting 7.6 mbps AND the NetGear router matches my Sky box and Xbox360!

      Looks like whatever OFCOM have brought into force has made them get the finger out.

    8. #17
      Ace2k7's Avatar
      Ace2k7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bishopsgate [CLBIS]
      Broadband ISP: UK Online 22MB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      Quote Originally Posted by kevin_g View Post
      Well, there you have it folks. A successful migration from UK Online to SkyBB Max in under 10 days
      I'm getting 7.6 mbps AND the NetGear router matches my Sky box and Xbox360!

      Looks like whatever OFCOM have brought into force has made them get the finger out.
      Where you on an LLU line with UKOnline ?

      I have just called them to ask for a MAC code, and they are still saying that Sky will reject the MAC Code as its the same hardware or something.

    9. #18
      kevin_g's Avatar
      kevin_g is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coatbridge
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Online or Sky - Who's Correct?

      As far as I know my line wasn't originally LLU, but my exchange is LLU enabled and my line has been converted - I'm on Sky BB Max now so it must be LLU, as far as I understand it.

      Put it this way - it you get a MAC from UKOL and give it to Sky you should know within 24 hours if it's going to be rejected or not.

      I'm not 100% on my knowledge of how the hardware works, but my understanding of the problems with these migrations is that it was difficult to move TO an LLU provider, not away from one. Since I've just moved to SkyBB Max without incident I can't see that you should have any trouble. If anyone knows better (which you probably do) please chime in.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION