Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 37

    Gaming on Sky BB

    This is a discussion on Gaming on Sky BB within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; 40ms is a decent ping, only over 55 is when pings start to matter, i can remember counterstrike on the ...

    1. #11
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      40ms is a decent ping, only over 55 is when pings start to matter, i can remember counterstrike on the old blueyonder game server with pings of 7ms.

      now those where the golden days


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      aksccltd2's Avatar
      aksccltd2 Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      London
      Albert dock exchange.

      Best ping i've ever had. And i've been with a few isp's

    4. #13
      aksccltd2's Avatar
      aksccltd2 Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Just a quick one. You might be told that it can't be done. It can you need to speak to the tier 3 support who can do it. All in all it took 40mins to get done, 35mins was waiting to get to teir 3.

      Good luck

      all seeing eye
      server scan jolt idle server 8ms

    5. #14
      bulldog's Avatar
      bulldog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNCSN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      141
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      online gaming

      Ok does anyone play games and is useing SBB what is your ping like ? if you set a server how stable is it, how good is the ping of people conecting ?
      cheers mike

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I don't play games but my 17 year old son does on both PC and PSP and hes never once complained, he doesn't run a games server though.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      what game do youplay bulldog..?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    8. #17
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you want to post a few urls, i'm sure we could do a few pings to them.

      Here's one popular one:

      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=50
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=50
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=50
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=50

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 47ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 47ms

      My line is pretty long and i have interleaving turned on
      Last edited by dingdong; 17-09-06 at 07:23 PM.

    9. #18
      LuckyKnight's Avatar
      LuckyKnight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      My next question was going to be how you got Sky to do it. But you just answered it I will be connected on Wednesday 20th (according to the BT Checker and Sky letter).

      40 mins! ouch. It will be worth it.

      Did you notice any drop in sync speed or stability? My current (well ex) ISP forced interleaving on tiscalli LLU and it made a dramatic change for the worse as far as pings were concerned. They said it was for stability but my line was perfect on BT MaxDSL before without interleaving.

      Besides checking your pings, is there a way to find out if it is enabled or disabled? The Netgear does not provide any such information on the web interface, but it does on the telnet one, which I believe we can't get to?

    10. #19
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      threads have been merged as they about the same thing and moved to general chat
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    11. #20
      LuckyKnight's Avatar
      LuckyKnight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This is a Sky Broadband specific thread so I am not sure why it has been moved to "General chat"!

      Specifically its about interleaving on Sky Broadband and how it may/may not affect gaming. It also contains information of having to contact tier 3 support to have it switched off.

      I would have never looked in the General chat!
      Last edited by LuckyKnight; 18-09-06 at 02:28 AM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION