Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

    This is a discussion on Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, I posted this in another forum on skyuser, but believe that I should have posted it here. Sorry ...

    1. #1
      cjb295's Avatar
      cjb295 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      Hi Guys,

      I posted this in another forum on skyuser, but believe that I should have posted it here. Sorry for the mistake.

      I've tried phoning Sky to sort out this problem, but they were next to useless, so I was hoping someone on here would be kind enough to help.

      The facts as they stand are:

      1. While running the installation CD, the part where it checks for a connection failed.

      2. On the netgear box the power light, wireless, and "1" lights are solid green. The internet light is solid green, but does give 2 quick flashes every 10 seconds or so. Does this mean there's a problem?

      3. Using IE, I can't connect to 192.168.0.1 or any other website; all I get is "This page cannot be displayed".

      4. Under the PC's network connections, apart from the old dial-up modem, there is an entry for a 1394 connection, which says it is connected. Is this the entry for the netgear box?

      5. As stated in the post title. When I use my laptop to connect wirelessly, it connects to the internet without any problems.

      Any help would be greatly appreciated, as this is driving me mad.

      Thanks in advance, Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      First of all you don't need the installation disk. Just connecting the ethernet cable should result in you being on-line.
      You say that the ethernet port light is lit on the router, do you see the two small computer screen icons in your system tray? If you pass your mouse over it it should say something like Local Area Connection, status connected.
      If not, right click on it and click on enable.
      Hope this helps.

      PS The 1394 connection is your firewire port.
      What you are looking for is the Local Area Connection
      Last edited by penrhyn; 11-02-07 at 03:09 PM.

    4. #3
      techphobe's Avatar
      techphobe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      Hi, I am having the same problem. I can connect with a wireless lap top, no problem, however I cannot connect to my desktop wirelessly or via ethernet cable. I have a good connection to the router wirelessly but cannot connect to the internet.
      Sky told me to order a sky wireless adaptor, which I did yesterday but if that is the problem how come I can't connect via ethernet?
      Could it be a setting on my computer? I have to return the borrowed laptop this week so I would be grateful for any help.

      Sorry to put this on your thread Cjd but it looks like we have a similar problem and hopefully we will both get it sorted.

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      Hi,
      Is the Ethernet (LAN) port on your PC enabled as per my previous post?

    6. #5
      techphobe's Avatar
      techphobe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      Yes I think it was enabled. I will confirm this when I get home from work though.Thanks.
      Are there any other settings that I can check?
      Last edited by techphobe; 12-02-07 at 10:42 AM. Reason: spelling

    7. #6
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      First thing i would check is device manager under network adapters you should have some sort of ethernet controller......if you dont then there be a setting in the bios to turn it on......if there is does it report its functioning properly.

      let us know and we take it further.

    8. #7
      techphobe's Avatar
      techphobe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      I will do. Thankyou.

    9. #8
      techphobe's Avatar
      techphobe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      Good news!!

      As usual, it was a simple solution to what seemed to be a complex problem.

      I double clicked my wireless adaptor icon..... pressed config...... changed authentification mode to wpa-psk..... input sky network key into box below that..... pressed ok...... and wahey!!! bobs yer uncle!

      Just call me Bill Gates. Hope this works for you Cjb.

      Thanks for replies off everyone. This is a top forum. 1000 times less stressful than trying to understand someone who is on another continent trying to understand what is being put in front of them on their screen.

    10. #9
      cjb295's Avatar
      cjb295 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can connect to internet using wireless, but not LAN !!

      Hi,

      Thanks for the help. I'm glad you got your broadband working, technophobe. The problem for me was that the ethernet was disabled in the bios.

      It's a shame that the tech support guy didn't even mention checking for a local area connection in the network connection page, as it would have saved 50 minutes on the phone slowly checking that the cables were connected correctly, etc.

      Thanks again,
      Chris

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION