Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 49

    !!! Official Line Stats And Distance From Exchange Thread...!!!

    This is a discussion on !!! Official Line Stats And Distance From Exchange Thread...!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here are some handy links for people to get an idea of what speeds they should hopefully achieve: http://www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php http://www.internode.on.net/adsl2/graph/ ...

    1. #21
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Here are some handy links for people to get an idea of what speeds they should hopefully achieve:

      http://www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php

      http://www.internode.on.net/adsl2/graph/

      http://www.beforum.co.uk/forum/default.aspx?f=2&m=3875

      Remember, these are just guides and there are other factors that can reduce your lines performance.

      spcdust


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by MJMoore View Post
      Thank you...


      Do I assume that means I'd get about 11mb max? My exchange is 714m away.

      erm tbh you could be 50 feet from an exchange and still not get 11mbit its all depending how bt have your phone loop im 2.8km as the crow flys from my exchange yet my fine line length is 6.5 km's which to me is a joke in itself but
      youll probly be allright its just theres no garantees what squirly setup the area may have

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Netgear non Sky

      BT ADSL broadband availability
      You are connected to the Marshalls Cross telephone exchange.

      ADSL is available in your area
      Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services

      According to BT Wholesale, your line should be able to support a 3.5Mbps or greater ADSL connection via ADSL Max.

      Standard ADSL RAG results:
      [BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
      [BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You may be able to receive 1Mbps ADSL
      [BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You can receive 512Kbps ADSL
      [BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You can receive 256Kbps ADSL

      You are approximately 3.00km from the exchange (straight line distance).

      There appears to a compatibility issue with your phone line. This could be caused by an existing DSL connection, ISDN, a DACS unit, TPON, a pending ADSL order or many other common issues. This will need to be resolved before ADSL can be supplied to your line.

      Your BT ADSL code is: AEGEGEC
      # /usr/sbin/adslctl info --stats
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 400
      0 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 4.2 22.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 29.0
      Pwr(dBm): 18.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 4448 1068
      Rate (Kbps): 4000 448




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is online now Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      heres mine sort of anyway i cant telnet into my router as it not a netgear

      BT ADSL broadband availability
      You are connected to the Gravesend telephone exchange.

      ADSL is available in your area
      Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services

      According to BT Wholesale, your line should be able to support a 3Mbps or greater ADSL connection via ADSL Max.

      Standard ADSL RAG results:
      You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
      You may be able to receive 1Mbps ADSL
      You can receive 512Kbps ADSL
      You can receive 256Kbps ADSL

      You are approximately 2.49km from the exchange (straight line distance).

      There appears to a compatibility issue with your phone line. This could be caused by an existing DSL connection, ISDN, a DACS unit, TPON, a pending ADSL order or many other common issues. This will need to be resolved before ADSL can be supplied to your line.

      Your BT ADSL code is: AEGEGEC
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    6. #25
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You should be able to get your line stats if you find your router/modem here: http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm

    7. #26
      Chu-Fye's Avatar
      Chu-Fye is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Glad this thread is picking up.
      Keep these stats coming

    8. #27
      Chu-Fye's Avatar
      Chu-Fye is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by SatDish View Post
      heres mine sort of anyway i cant telnet into my router as it not a netgear
      Hey.. Im in Gravesend too..
      Just awaiting my MAC code from talktalk...

    9. #28
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is online now Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      it strange how the BT wires go coz im closer to the exchange then NewsreadeR iis to his yet he can get faster adsl lol
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    10. #29
      SkyUser Test Bot's Avatar
      SkyUser Test Bot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      we need a converter for km whats 3.0km in miles?

    11. #30
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is online now Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      3 kilometers is equal to 1.864113576 miles

      http://www.braincast.nl/converter.htm
      Last edited by SatDish; 03-09-06 at 12:26 AM.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION