Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 49

    !!! Official Line Stats And Distance From Exchange Thread...!!!

    This is a discussion on !!! Official Line Stats And Distance From Exchange Thread...!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I tried admin pasword... Will check back later, It is my birthday so I am off to soak in a ...

    1. #11
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I tried admin pasword... Will check back later, It is my birthday so I am off to soak in a bubble bath before dropping off the little on at her nan's. Then I am off out for a nice dinner.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      didnt it say somewhere that you need to use the "sky's router" which they would update every so oftem maybe they have there own telnet login to do this software updating because thats the only logical reason to disable the ability to use telnet

    4. #13
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Here's mine. Note I'm still on BT Broadband 2mb, but have ordered MAX.

      I did this using a Linksys WAG54GS Router

      BusyBox v1.00 (2005.12.07-10:11+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
      Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

      # /usr/sbin/adslctl info --stats
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 288 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2272 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 23.1 29.0
      Attn(dB): 18.5 10.0
      Pwr(dBm): 15.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 10656 1208
      Rate (Kbps): 2272 288

      So where's my exchange you ask? Back yard lol. You can see the exchange from my bedroom window, Samknows.com reports the distance as 139m, although the back of the building is much less than 100m away!

      hinz
      Last edited by hinz; 02-09-06 at 03:59 PM.

    5. #14
      Chu-Fye's Avatar
      Chu-Fye is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      holy shOOt... thats awsome..

      I bet you are gonna max your connection with the right tweaks
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 02-09-06 at 04:25 PM. Reason: removed the i ;-)

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Chu-Fye

      Anyone using the Netgear DG834GT or for that matter most Netgear routers can get the stats from the Router Status by clicking on the Show Statistics button and a popup windows will open with them all in.

      My stats are from a Netgear DG834N RangMax

      ADS Link.............Downstream..Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps....448 kbps
      Line Attenuation...21.0 db........11.0 db
      Noise Margin........10.0 db........24.0 db

      Exchange is 500m
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      /usr/sbin/adslctl info --stats doesn't work on Netgear DG834Gv2 routers, the correct command is: cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats

      [DSL Modem Stats]
      US Connection Rate: 288 DS Connection Rate: 2272
      DS Line Attenuation: 26 DS Margin: 31
      US Line Attenuation: 16 US Margin: 31
      DS Max Attainable Bit Rate: 11296 kbps

      Exchange is 890 meters away. Will hopefully be switching to Sky later this month.

    8. #17
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Getting better. I wonder how many people will actually get 16mb

      hinz
      Last edited by Wheelie; 02-09-06 at 05:21 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    9. #18
      MJMoore's Avatar
      MJMoore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thank you...
      BusyBox v0.61.pre (2005.09.27-08:20+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
      Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

      # cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_modem_stats

      AR7 DSL Modem Statistics:
      --------------------------------
      [DSL Modem Stats]
      US Connection Rate: 288 DS Connection Rate: 2272
      DS Line Attenuation: 19 DS Margin: 31
      US Line Attenuation: 12 US Margin: 22

      Showtime Count: 1 DS Max Attainable Bit Rate: 11456
      Do I assume that means I'd get about 11mb max? My exchange is 714m away.

    10. #19
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Assuming that the Be* speed chart/DSLZone ADSL2+ checkers are accurate, anyone with an attenuation under 30 (with a "perfect" line) should be able to get the full 16mb. Once you cross over to 31db you start degrading. It's too bad that Sky limit you to 16mb, when some users could be syncing at a much higher speed. My line reports I should be able to get 12-16mb when plugged in an extension socket (gives attenuation of 26), and 14-18mb when plugged in the test socket (attenuation of 25).

      Hopefully Sky will think about upping their max speed in the future, as there are not that many ISP's who can match/exceed them (Be*, Bulldog, UKOnline, possibly AOL in future); and owning one of them can't do much harm either :P

      Edit: MJMoore, although I'm not 100% sure I think that the max speed there is only measured for ADSL1, and not ADSL2+. So if you were put onto a MAXDSL connection you'd sync at 8128kbps. Again, assuming that DSLZone checker is correct, your downstream attenuation of 19 puts you at 16-20Mb. On the Be* chart you'd max out at 20mb. If the extra 4mb mattered that much you could easily go with Be* (providing they are at your exchange), but you'd be paying 14 extra.
      Last edited by OhNoes; 02-09-06 at 05:29 PM.

    11. #20
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site OhNoes

      If you do decide to join good luck

      @hinz

      Please read the edit note on your previous post thanks

      @MJMoore

      Its possible it would deepened on the actual line length and the the straight line length quoted on samknows plus other things can also affect it such as wiring both inside and outside the house etc.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION