Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    First Time Set Up.

    This is a discussion on First Time Set Up. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had no trouble setting up Sky BB . This was mainly due to reading threads on this site before ...

    1. #1
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      First Time Set Up.

      I had no trouble setting up Sky BB.
      This was mainly due to reading threads on this site
      before my router arrived.
      Others, like Drummergirl, have not been so lucky.

      I have a suggestion.
      A simply set of guidelines for those setting up Sky
      for the first time. Or if you have trouble when setting up.
      Post here what has worked for you.
      Then maybe one of our techie experts can review,
      correct and create a master list.
      The next post will be my suggestions.

      My Sky BB MAX is FRB.
      Fast, Reliable, Bargain.
      Last edited by murdock; 07-02-07 at 11:57 AM. Reason: corrections


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      1.Do not install the Sky Software.
      2.Do not use McAfee.
      3.Only use the CD to view how to connect.
      4.Use the LAN/Ethernet connection first.
      5.Activate Wireless only when everything is working okay.
      6.You can leave the router plugged in before the activation date.
      7.Use Firefox as your browser.
      Or Internet Explorer6.
      If you really must, only upgrade to IE7 when you know everything is OK.
      8. Install anti-virus software. Like, AVG 7.5 (free)
      or NOD32, free trial from download.com
      Last edited by murdock; 27-02-07 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Number 8 added and revised.

    4. #3
      Drummergirl's Avatar
      Drummergirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Co. Durham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      This all sounds great, but when you say use the LAN/Ethernet connection, I take it this is plug your pc into the router and then what, just click on Internet Explorer or do you need to set up a new connection on the pc?

    5. #4
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Yes to both questions.
      Follow the animated guide for the leads as on the CD up to
      the point where they ask you if you want to install McAfee.
      Then remove the CD.

      Your router lights must be showing green.
      Then just launch Explorer6. I do not use Sky email or Sky.com
      It did not work properly four months ago. Some say it still doesn't.
      I use hotmail and my home page is bbc.
      So the only thing I use Sky BB for is to connect to the Internet.
      It has only ever failed once - a fault at the exchange, quickly fixed.

      Because it all worked for me it does not necessarily mean it
      will work for you. You are on Connect. I am on MAX.
      Although I also use a Viao laptop. But not wirelessly.
      Sometimes I have both the laptop and PC wired to the router.

      Hope you saw my edit on your thread.
      The 0800 number is there for Sky.
      Last edited by murdock; 07-02-07 at 01:12 PM. Reason: clarification

    6. #5
      ChuckNorris's Avatar
      ChuckNorris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: TileHill
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.



      I used this guide and help from murdock for my recent set up and has made my life a lot easier!
      Very usefull and clear to follow!!

      Definatley woud recomend (sp.) to new users to follow!

    7. #6
      Drummergirl's Avatar
      Drummergirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Co. Durham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: First Time Set Up.

      I would also like to say a big thanks to Murdock, everything you have advised has been very helpful...I am now able to connect to the internet even wireless is working.
      I did end up ringing Sky on the 0800 number and have to say they were really helpful, even rang back within ten minutes!! They even advised me themselves not to install their software as they aren't trained to support IE7 so I'm on IE6 and so far it seems great!
      The problem seems to be around the McAfee software, if I install that the whole thing goes off again, although I have no clue as to why, so at the minute the only thing I have switched on is my Windows firewall. I've seen a thread about McAfee on this forum so am off to check that out to see what anti-virus software is recommended...any ideas gratefully received
      Thanks again for everyone's help!
      Last edited by Drummergirl; 08-02-07 at 12:28 PM.

    8. #7
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Good news Skyusers.
      The credit belongs to this site as most of what I know
      was learned from other users who have posted here.

      Drummergirl, get anti virus fast.
      I use NOD32.
      But it is best to get it from the American site.
      You can try it free for a month from

      Free Software Downloads and Software Reviews - Download.com

      (Just search software. Type in NOD32)

      If you go to the NOD32 (Eset) British site you pay much more
      for the annual fees. Google takes you there automatically.
      Why do we Brits always have to pay more than the Yanks
      for the same product?

      Other posters have suggested free products like
      Avast and AVG.
      My research, and advice on Skyuser, suggests that Nod32 is the best.
      but I have never tried Avast. Next time I will.

      My Sky BB Max.
      Faster, Cheaper, Better.

    9. #8
      Drummergirl's Avatar
      Drummergirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Co. Durham
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Thanks again...I'll download the trial and see how it goes!
      I have to say I didn't know sites like this exist and for a complete novice they are fantastic really helpful!

    10. #9
      mistyblu's Avatar
      mistyblu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bilston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      I have Sky Max and installed the software and the McAfee Security. I use both a PC and a laptop wired to the router, so don't use wireless. I don't have any problems with the laptop (hp compaq nc 600, issued by the firm I work for) which runs Norton antivirus and IE 6). My desktop PC runs IE 7, but I cannot access certain websites, which I have no problem accessing with the laptop, even though they are both working at the same time. Do you think it best to uninstall the McAfee software? I did run Norton Antivirus (I think 2004, even though my live subscription was bang up to date) and it kept bumping me off Instant Messenger, both MSN and AOL, after about 30 seconds and then reconnecting, disconnecting and so forth. I uninstalled Norton and set up the McAfee and don't have any problems now with IM, but still can't access certain websites. Any other thoughts???

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Murdock - why not do a setup guide in the SkyUserWiki?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION