Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    First Time Set Up.

    This is a discussion on First Time Set Up. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Welcome Mistyblu. What happens if you revert to IE6? You just delete IE7... Control Panel, then Uninstall/Install. It will automatically ...

    1. #11
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Welcome Mistyblu.

      What happens if you revert to IE6?
      You just delete IE7... Control Panel, then Uninstall/Install.
      It will automatically revert to IE6.
      If that makes no difference, download and try using Firefox.

      Firefox - Rediscover the Web

      You can have both browsers on the same computer
      but NOT two Anti-virus programs.

      After those tests consider replacing McAfee on one of the
      computers and report what happens. I suggest the free trial
      of Nod32 or Avast, (see posts above).

      Do one step at a time and see which, if any, makes a difference
      and report back.


      My Max.
      Faster, Cheaper, Better.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Murdock - why not do a setup guide in the SkyUserWiki?
      Newsreader. Will consider once there is more feed back.
      We need a few more beginners (like me) to try the eight steps
      in the second post and report if it works or not.
      Mistyblu will be a good test, because like me the laptop and
      PC are both wired to the router.
      We do not use wireless but occasionally do use both PC and
      laptop simultaneously.
      No problems for me, but McAfee is on neither computer.

    4. #13
      mistyblu's Avatar
      mistyblu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bilston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Hi there Murdock - I have deleted McAfee from desktop PC and downloaded NOD32. IM services seem to be running OK (MSN disconnected and reconnected a couple of times but AOL seems stable). Still cannot get to certain websites so I will try downloading Firefox and reverting to IE 6 and report back.

    5. #14
      Clar30's Avatar
      Clar30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      hi Murdock,
      I've got Mcafee installed , It came with My DELL pc... i've got an activation date of 23rd from sky, but the letter also states that there is an up to 3 day delay..

      I've not got any major issues with mcafee at the moment (connected to Virgin still) though i uninstalled Spam Killer and it seemed to improve my browser speed though I'm not exactly sure it was what was causing it but when I would open Firefox, it would hang for about 5 secs and then load the page and it kept doing it on every page i browsed to but seemed to have stopped since uninstalling Mcafee
      I also have IE7.. should I shake that as well??

      thanks for your time,
      Last edited by Clar30; 21-02-07 at 01:09 PM.

    6. #15
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Hey Clar.
      There are some who have posted that there is nothing
      wrong with McAfee if you adjust the settings.
      Most say “Dump McAfee” because when used with
      Sky it causes problems. Your experience seems to
      confirm the majority opinion.
      Which AV software are you using instead?

      With IE7 however, the situation is less clear.
      I tried IE7 and hit a few problems. But that was not
      the final version. IE7 kept interrupting my session
      asking me to report a problem.
      So I reverted to IE6. The interruptions stopped.
      Now I tend to use Firefox more and have grown to
      like it.

      It is easy to switch back to IE6 and see if that solves a
      problem. You can then upgrade if it makes no difference.
      It would be interesting to know what you find.
      But I am a great believer in:
      “If it ain't broke – don't fix it.”

      If you decide to follow the 8 steps in the second post
      of this thread I would love to know if your connection
      to Sky is easy or not.

      My Max.
      Faster, Cheaper, Better
      Last edited by murdock; 21-02-07 at 12:33 PM. Reason: new para

    7. #16
      Clar30's Avatar
      Clar30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Hi Murdock,
      I havent fully uninstalled MCAFEE.. within security center, it gives you the option to remove individual programs within it so i got rid of spam killer.
      I really only have it on there because I got it free through DELL and its actually kept a few spyware scripts at bay...
      I'll deifintely get rid of it if i have problems after installing SKY and probably install AVAST.. since MOD32 is only free for 30days..
      as far as with IE7 the biggest problem I have with it to date is that its slow as hell... but i dont use it enough to realy **** me off, i really only ever load it when i cant get a page to display properly in Firefox

    8. #17
      mistyblu's Avatar
      mistyblu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bilston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Hi Murdock,
      I have reverted back to IE 6, but that made no difference, I still can't access certain websites. Downloaded Mozilla Firefox and that's made no difference. I do like Firefox though and have even switched over to the Mozilla Thundermail email client. Laptop still working perfectly OK and that's got IE 6. Oh well, at least I can do more than I could and I have installed new software (NOD32 anti virus and Mozilla Firefox and Thundermail). Thanks for your suggestions.

    9. #18
      talydon's Avatar
      talydon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newcastle
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Hi
      i was having problems with sky so followed all murdocks steps reverted back to IE6 took off McCafe and installed AVG 7.5 free and everything seems to be working ok i have had no problems since i use vaio lap top wireless and its doing now what it should do, thanks Murdock
      Talydon

    10. #19
      DigiBoxer's Avatar
      DigiBoxer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121 Beacon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 + Apple Airport Extreme
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      This is probably a daft question .. My activation (well, migration from Pipex to Sky BB) is due according to the BT Line Order trakcker, set for Friday 25th May, so a couple of days to go.

      I've had the Netgear router arrive yesterday with a covering letter (although the letter refers to 'my user name shown below', only there's nothing shown below to indicate what it is!).. I'm assuming I will get another letter with my username and password in it? (unless I just use the one I use to log into 'My Sky' when I placed the Sky BB order?!)

      This topic seems to imply that I don't need to use the CD that came in the box at all (which suits me as I'm always a bit wary of what extra crap it'll install as part of the installation process). I don't need Anti Virus as I've already been using NOD32 for years and am more than happy with that and use Firefox by default.

      Am I right therefore in thinking, that if I don't install the software on the CD, I can just plug the yellow LAN cable into the PC, the grey ADSL cable into the wall socket, and once the lines been activated, it'll synchronise with the exchange, the green light will become solid and that's it, I'm connected and can access the net/emails etc and I don't have to do anything else or install any drivers etc? (Of course, will have to configure Outlook 2003 manually, but that's easy to do following the tutorials on SkyUser!)

      Many thanks!
      Last edited by DigiBoxer; 23-05-07 at 08:25 PM.

    11. #20
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First Time Set Up.

      Quote Originally Posted by DigiBoxer View Post
      This is probably a daft question .. My activation (well, migration from Pipex to Sky BB) is due according to the BT Line Order trakcker, set for Friday 25th May, so a couple of days to go.

      I've had the Netgear router arrive yesterday with a covering letter (although the letter refers to 'my user name shown below', only there's nothing shown below to indicate what it is!).. I'm assuming I will get another letter with my username and password in it? (unless I just use the one I use to log into 'My Sky' when I placed the Sky BB order?!)

      This topic seems to imply that I don't need to use the CD that came in the box at all (which suits me as I'm always a bit wary of what extra crap it'll install as part of the installation process). I don't need Anti Virus as I've already been using NOD32 for years and am more than happy with that and use Firefox by default.

      Am I right therefore in thinking, that if I don't install the software on the CD, I can just plug the yellow LAN cable into the PC, the grey ADSL cable into the wall socket, and once the lines been activated, it'll synchronise with the exchange, the green light will become solid and that's it, I'm connected and can access the net/emails etc and I don't have to do anything else or install any drivers etc? (Of course, will have to configure Outlook 2003 manually, but that's easy to do following the tutorials on SkyUser!)

      Many thanks!


      Spot on!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION