Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    New user

    This is a discussion on New user within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So you wouldnt sugest changing to adsl2+ on these stats?...

    1. #11
      Andy66's Avatar
      Andy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pevensey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user

      So you wouldnt sugest changing to adsl2+ on these stats?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Andy66's Avatar
      Andy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pevensey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user

      Will that work with a netgear 834 PN router, which i am currently using

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New user

      As I said:

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      I could get 8Mb on g.dmt. My line was actually better on g.dmt than it is now on ADSL2+. it was more stable and I could get a bit more speed out of it.
      Now that is my experience. If you pursuade Sky to move you to ADSL2+, you may have a different experience.

      with your line length, you wont get anything more than 7mb to 7.5mb without a detrimental impact on stability.

      You can always try it and if it doesn't work out ask them to move you back.

      If someone can confirm that ADSL2+ would defo help with your PINGs, then that may be the deciding factor.

      Have you tried the master test socket by the way (see my sig).

    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New user

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy66 View Post
      Will that work with a netgear 834 PN router, which i am currently using
      Why dont you want to use the router supplied by sky?

    6. #15
      Andy66's Avatar
      Andy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pevensey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user

      It is a good router but does not have the range to serve my house. My original router was a dg834g which was fine but had a short range on wireless

    7. #16
      Andy66's Avatar
      Andy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pevensey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user

      Also do you think i should downgrade to mid connection as i will never get more than 8mb and i am within the 8 day period?

    8. #17
      Andy66's Avatar
      Andy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pevensey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user

      I already have a dedicated adsl extension off the master socket along with a filter on face plate for the phone extensions

    9. #18
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New user

      Well, as you will never get a stable connection above 8Mb, then Mid sounds a good option.

      HOWEVER.... MID does not offer unlimited downloads and has a lower UPLOAD rate of around 400 instead of 768.

    10. #19
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New user

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy66 View Post
      I already have a dedicated adsl extension off the master socket along with a filter on face plate for the phone extensions
      Sorry, that's not very clear.

      Are you saying you have a filtered faceplate or a 'dangly' filter plugged into your master socket?

    11. #20
      Andy66's Avatar
      Andy66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pevensey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user

      Thanks for your help, I will speak to sky re mid package as i will not exceed 40gb limit and dont see why i should pay more?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION