Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Ethernet Bummer

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Bummer within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; H8ball Thanks for your excellent post. I had a look at Network Connections last night and could only see a ...

    1. #11
      docformat's Avatar
      docformat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Bummer

      H8ball

      Thanks for your excellent post. I had a look at Network Connections last night and could only see a 1394 connection (that's Firewire right?). I will try out your ideas tonight and get back to you.

      Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      intheknow!'s Avatar
      intheknow! is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Bummer

      plug both ends into the router in 2 different ports see if any lights come on then. check with a 2nd cable as well.

      if no lights then could well be the box needs replaced, if lights do come on, its the cable not having enough power from the ethernet port from ur comp.

    4. #13
      h8ball's Avatar
      h8ball is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Bummer

      @docformat

      Did the Link Light test indicate OK? If so, the hardware is most likely fine and it's just a BIOS configuration (on-board LAN not enabled) or Windows driver problem (not installed or problem with current drivers).

      If your BIOS checks out OK, run Device Manager and look for the following possibilities:-

      Network Adapters
      > Your Ethernet Adapter Name


      Red Cross = Drivers are installed but the device has been disabled in your current hardware profile. Simply enable it again.

      Yellow Exclamation Mark = Drivers are installed but some problem has been detected. In this case, open the device's Properties dialog and look at "Device status". This will be displaying an error message to help diagnose the problem. Post it here and I'll be able to help further.

      NO Symbol = Drivers are installed and "Device status" should be reading "This device is working properly". In this case, the Network Connection which uses that device may have been accidentally deleted. Simply run the Network Setup Wizard to recreate it, then check it's TCP/IP settings are correct.

      Unknown Device

      If, at some time in the past, Windows autodetected the device on startup and ran the New Hardware Wizard, but you Cancelled out WITHOUT installing any drivers, the device will have been "registered" in Device Manager as an Unknown Device. Simply install the correct drivers and this "placeholder" will be renamed and moved to the correct device category, in your case Network Adapters.

      Hope this helps.

      Edit [Fri 16/2/07 17:40]: Had any luck, yet, my friend?
      Last edited by h8ball; 16-02-07 at 06:42 PM.

    5. #14
      docformat's Avatar
      docformat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Bummer

      Hi h8ball

      Sorry for the late reply - very busy.

      I managed to get the ethernet working - I had to reinstall drivers on the mo'board. Thanks for your help.

    6. #15
      h8ball's Avatar
      h8ball is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Bummer

      AHA! Thought so. Glad to hear you got it working!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION