Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    McAfee??

    This is a discussion on McAfee?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have just bought a new laptop running Vista Home Premium, i have re-installed the sky cd to put McAfee ...

    1. #1
      cuckie's Avatar
      cuckie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: PETERLEE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      North East England
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      McAfee??

      i have just bought a new laptop running Vista Home Premium, i have re-installed the sky cd to put McAfee anti-virus on but it does not seem to be running, and my windows protection says i have no anti-virus software???

      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      This link is about McAfee and Vista:

      Computer Shopper - Britain's Biggest Selling Computer Monthly

      "Microsoft, McAfee fail to spot Vista viruses."
      put the above in the search box of Computer Shopper.


      I do not use the Sky software or McAfee.
      This site has dozens of postings telling users to
      get rid of McAfee. It causes all kinds of problems.


      My Sky BB Max is FRB.
      Fast, Reliable, Bargain.
      Last edited by murdock; 07-02-07 at 08:07 PM. Reason: update

    4. #3
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      Unfortunately I also had to ditch this in favour of NOD32(Virus checker), Kerio sunbelt firewall, and c cleaner (or thought about Adaware or Spybot for spyware), the Mcafee internet suite was too unwieldy and slowing down system resources and causing errors.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    5. #4
      hermann's Avatar
      hermann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stockport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      For Antivirus, I downloaded the free Avast home edition from here: Free antivirus software download and you can run it as a demo for 60 days or register within that time to run it free for 12 - 18 months I believe.

      On my wife's laptop it found 5 trojans which an up-to-date McAfee didn't spot. It is also supposed to work with Vista (although I run XP), and you could read user reviews here if you wish: Avast Home Edition - User reviews and free download at Download.com

      So off the original McAfee CD that ships with SKY, I only use the firewall and have deleted the other three components. McAfee security centre doesn't recognise me running Avast, but I don't think that matters... I can see it's protecting the PC and it has several things I don't think McAfee AV has, including protection in P2P and Instant Messaging.
      Last edited by hermann; 06-02-07 at 02:14 PM.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: McAfee??

      The only use for the Sky CD is to put your coffee cup on it to avoid burning your desk. imho




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      cuckie's Avatar
      cuckie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: PETERLEE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      North East England
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      Thanks herman, just downloaded avast and it seems great at the moment!!

    8. #7
      hermann's Avatar
      hermann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stockport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      Your welcome. I've only been using it for a few days myself, but it doesn't slow my PC as much as McAfee or Norton and I'm very happy with it thus far.

      Have you sorted a firewall yet that works on Vista?

    9. #8
      cuckie's Avatar
      cuckie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: PETERLEE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      North East England
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      Im using the windows firewall and it seems OK.
      I have one more question, I am about to register with avast to recieve my key, but the way it is set up seems to me to be that when they get your e-mail address you may start to recieve a load of junk mail?
      This is how 'free' sites sometimes make their money, from advertising, and it has happened to me before, i started recieving about 70 junk e-mails a day!
      I hope this is not the case but as my e-mail is new due to joining sky i want to keep it away from things like that.
      Does anyone know if this site is OK?

    10. #9
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      I set up Hotmail accounts for program registering purposes. It keeps all the junk away from your main e-mail address.

    11. #10
      cuckie's Avatar
      cuckie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: PETERLEE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      North East England
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee??

      Good idea, thanks for that.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION