Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Not Connected Yet!

    This is a discussion on Not Connected Yet! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; congrats m8y hope all works out now.makes the faffing about worthwhile...

    1. #11
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      congrats m8y hope all works out now.makes the faffing about worthwhile


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      It does, just need to get the extra email address and check the speed of the line as different speed tests give different results, hope it is jsut the line settleing down as the last one i did on BT was 3100!!!

    4. #13
      Paul10590's Avatar
      Paul10590 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi brucemac, nice speed tests. Although don't expecte them to go up. I mean l'm surprised you've got what you've got. Many websites on the internet can't offer you that sort of uplaod bandwidth and so you won't notice speed increases during peak periods of the day. Even though you may connect at 15.3 mb being realistic - unless your downloading from like rapidshare.de or a torrent it will be very hard to go over 10mbs for a d/l etc But still very good!

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by brucemac View Post
      Finally managed to get connected,

      Haven't really played much with it done a few speed tests and these range from 7mb to 10mb, on several different spped tests, hopefully this will be the line settling down as when i loggedinto the router it said 15.3mb, hopefully will improve to high speed as i am not far from the exchange!

      Thats really great news

      To be honest the best way to test your speed would be to download a large file from an ftp I use this one ftp.mirror.ac.uk//edunfs/mirrors/sites/ftp.freebsd.org/ftp/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/ISO-IMAGES/6.1/ to test speeds all the time but you do need to use an ftp client

      Speed test sites are never that accurate.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Firefox will download directly from there. I just tested it and got 8megs!!!

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Most browsers will but normally an ftp client gives you a better result

      I just downloaded the 25MB files MAX Adsl connection with FlashFXP and these are my results

      [10:20:10] Transferred: 6.1-RELEASE-amd64-bootonly.iso 24.96 MB in 32.91 seconds (776.7 KB/s)
      [10:20:10] Transfer queue completed
      [10:20:10] Transferred 1 file totaling 24.96 MB in 33.30 seconds (776.7 KB/s)

      Last edited by Wheelie; 03-09-06 at 11:22 AM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I did the same file and i got about 650 so took about 40 secs, thought i ould be on a much faster speed than this?

    9. #18
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      From what you have said about your sync speed you should, maybe the ftp is busy in which case try later or maybe your connection is still bedding time will tell I guess.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #19
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just got off the phone to sky, had my line at 16mb however the line is generating oads of erros which is buidling up at the exchange and meaning i am not geting the full speed, they have capped it at 12MB for the minute.

      They were unable to advise what the errors were caused by, However looking at hugsie's post i tried the master socket, tried the test line, and still the same if not less.

      When downloading it starts off really high in the 1100 but then goes down to about 600/700 which is no where i am near supposed to get.

      Only about 920m from the exchange so should be right on top it!


      Any ideas?

    11. #20
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I found this useful tip on another site:

      Matthew Moyle-Croft writes...
      Basically to convert from attenuation to distance you divide by 13.81 - because standard gauge copper (0.4mm) has a loss of approximately 13.81db/km
      So for me

      As the crow flies I am 1.7km from exchange
      Attenuation= 40.5
      40.5/13.81 =2.93

      so I am approximately 2.93km from exchange via wiring

      checking this against here:http://www.internode.on.net/adsl2/graph/index.htm

      I should expect between 10 and 12 megs given no faults in wiring.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION