Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

    This is a discussion on Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello! New Member *waves* I'm currently with Orange Broadband and I want to switch to Sky, (only connect is available ...

    1. #1
      oth's Avatar
      oth
      oth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      Hello! New Member *waves*

      I'm currently with Orange Broadband and I want to switch to Sky, (only connect is available in my area at the moment).

      Now I have received my MAC code from orange however I rung sky today and they said that the orange mac codes do not work with their system and I would have to cancel my orange account and then ring sky back...

      I was wandering if anyone else has been through this situation and was wandering what was the best route to take?

      Also, how long will the process take?

      Thank you!
      Last edited by oth; 31-01-07 at 04:26 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hullcity's Avatar
      hullcity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      Hi,

      I go live with Sky on the 7th after moving from Orange. While I did have a few problems, due to my mac code been entered incorrectly, the only reason (I think I am correct in saying) your mac would be rejected would be if you are LLUed so I would check your exchange. If you aren't llued then there should be no problem

      hullcity
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:09 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    4. #3
      oth's Avatar
      oth
      oth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      how can i check the exchange? and also my mac code is similar to the ones they list on sky... BBIP followed by numbers then /FB30W
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:09 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    5. #4
      hullcity's Avatar
      hullcity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      Put your phone number and postcode in. Look at LLU x DSL and if Orange is LLUed it will say so.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:10 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    6. #5
      oth's Avatar
      oth
      oth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      it says under llu x dsl "orange is not available in your area yet"

      also, did you have a similar mac code to mine?
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:10 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    7. #6
      hullcity's Avatar
      hullcity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      That means Sky should accept your mac no problem. Mine was different to yours but I don’t think that matters. I would try again

      hullcity
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:10 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    8. #7
      oth's Avatar
      oth
      oth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      thank you very much! i will ring them now

      sorry for being such a retard on this subject
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:11 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    9. #8
      oth's Avatar
      oth
      oth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      i've just rung and everything has been set up! i guess it was just an idiot advisor that i had before
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:11 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    10. #9
      hullcity's Avatar
      hullcity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      Good news, hope everything goes smoothly

      hullcity
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:11 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    11. #10
      oth's Avatar
      oth
      oth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching to Sky Broadband from Orange (HELP!)

      as do I! thanks for your help
      Last edited by Wheelie; 31-01-07 at 07:11 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION