Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky speed?

    This is a discussion on Sky speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have been on sky connect for about a week now and i was woundering what download speeds i ...

    1. #1
      bigdan676's Avatar
      bigdan676 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Sky speed?

      Hi, I have been on sky connect for about a week now and i was woundering what download speeds i should be getting, i have been on sites which test your speed and they all read out roughly 1MB, Is this right?

      Thanks very much
      Dan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky speed?

      it depends how far from exchange u are ,wiring in house,wireless or ethernet etc [connect can be upto 8meg ]put your stats up from ur router and someone will let you know [i can never work out noise levels etc but i know saturday is usually on the ball]

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed?

      Welcome to the site Dan

      There are a number of factors that govern what speeds you could and or would get if you post some stats it may give us some idea of what you can get.

      If you are unsure how to log into the router do the following
      Click on the link http://192.168.0.1 and a pop-up box will appear enter the following
      Username: admin
      Password: sky
      At the bottom of the Router Status page you will see a row of button click on the Show Statistics one and a small window will open with the stats. Copy and paste them in here please.

      Moved to the correct forum
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      bigdan676's Avatar
      bigdan676 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Sky speed?

      System Up Time 115:21:19
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 16 4 0 23 1 00:02:54
      LAN 10M/100M 631268 617819 0 1828 183 115:21:17
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1440 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 21.0 db

      Hope this helps guys,
      Cheers

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed?

      Attenuation is a little on the high side but I would say you should get a bit more speed than you are getting.

      Do you switch your router off at all if so that could be why as your Connect which is the BT ADSL Max product that Sky use and as such it has a 10 day training period.

      If you would like to learn more about this have a read here Myth and magic of Max and here FAQ on BT's MAX ADSL
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      bigdan676's Avatar
      bigdan676 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed?

      Hi, i have only switch it off once on the first day i connected it all up, because i had to untaggle some wires.

      I have used some online speed tests and they all say it's about 1MB but i am sure it should be higher than this,

      Thanks very much

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION