Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    checking Exchange Status?

    This is a discussion on checking Exchange Status? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello everyone, I'm just wondering if there was a page where i could check if my Exchange is enabled, if ...

    1. #1
      Tony.Mercury's Avatar
      Tony.Mercury is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation checking Exchange Status?

      Hello everyone,

      I'm just wondering if there was a page where i could check if my Exchange is enabled, if not, when it would be enabled! I'm thinking about joining SkyBroadband, but with it being LLU, i cannot find anything about the status of my exchange.

      If someone could check for me, my broadband exchange is:-

      Aintree (LVAIN)

      any response will be appreciated!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You can check your exchange status at

      www.samknows.com

      Just see if Easynet have got their own LLU kit installed.

      spcdust

      Footnote: Looking at your exchange it unfortunately reports that Easynet do not have got their kit in, only Bulldog so far.
      Last edited by spcdust; 01-09-06 at 01:48 PM.

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Tony

      As spcdust samkonws is the best place to watch if you go here and add you email address so you get
      Email notifications of changes to: they will keep you informed about any changes to your exchange.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question prodigynet. What does this mean?


      On Wedesday, prodigynet.co.uk told me the following about my line. "This looks like a normal BT exchange line with no ADSL enabled."

      Wednesday night I bought Sky Max and Sky Talk. Thursday the prodigy message changed to:
      "There is a product or service on this line which is incompatible with ADSL".

      Does anyone know what the latest message means? Is it related to Sky Broadband?

      I have rung BT who told me to ask Sky.
      I rung Sky who told me to ask BT.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      "There is a product or service on this line which is incompatible with ADSL".
      normally you have already got adsl or a marker on from an isp iirc




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Tony.Mercury's Avatar
      Tony.Mercury is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thankyou all for the nice replys and thankyou for welcoming me!

      My mum (who will be paying for this Internet connection) has already canceled the connection under the impression that SkyBroadband will be active sometime this month; according to the people she talked to over the phone that is.

      I'm just not confident at the moment if that will happen since Sky are new to the Broadband sector, and as for the Easynet current exchange list, they don't have many exchanges enabled, unless SkyBroadband are pushing them to get more exchanged enabled?

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Thankyou all for the nice replys and thankyou for welcoming me!
      dont think we been nice, we welcome everyone

      if you need any more help just ask!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      @Tony, I ordered on the 29th and went active yesterday, so it can happen
      Remember the majority of people who seek out some where to post their experience have probably done so because they have experienced some delay or frustration. Also Sky have experienced a huge response, andtaking that into account the number of dissapointed customers we have heard from is quite low!

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Gotta agree, a site like this and very few negative responses from customers, although we welcome negative, but constructive posts, we would not allow this forum "to be a sounding off for the we are not impressed with sky mob"

      Things are moving fast for Sky, and yes they are making mistakes, however very few people are having a go at them. That is an excellent sign.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      as far as i see the majority of problems come from migrating and it may be with your isp's dragging there bootys no one wants to lose a customer or the process sky have to go through to get it moved. tbh im sure the people who havent got somthing to grumble about are people who had clear lines in the first place getting quickly activated.

      but tbh with finding this forum i knew every problem that might surface trying to move over and i first came here with a complaint (of course) but the whole moving over process has been a little easier with this place as people share there issues and how they got it resolved and what to watch for.

      theres enough anti bt websites that tbh dont even try to help anymore just give constant bad stories.

      we need more people to post succesfull story's innit

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION