Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

    This is a discussion on Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Apologies if I've posted this in the wrong section, but I've managed to configure my router to allow me to ...

    1. #1
      desi's Avatar
      desi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      Apologies if I've posted this in the wrong section,
      but I've managed to configure my router to allow me to setup a home webserver.
      Running W2K with IIS installed.
      Router allows HTTP:80 connections.
      If I switch off Zonealarm (free version) I can connect to my test webpage from work machine.
      When switched on, I can't.
      I realise this is way off SKY topic, but can anyone suggest any ideas on how I can get Zonealarm to allow IIS to receive incoming connections.
      Program control allows IIS full access in Zonealarm,
      but that makes no difference.

      Any help apprecciated.

      Serenity Now!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      andycswt's Avatar
      andycswt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdare
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      I have no idea what IIS is, or anything about running a server mate, but zonealarm can intermittently stop web pages loading through SKY bb. Go into the firewall screen, click advanced and tick any box asking to allow DNS / DHCP.. worked for me and others
      Last edited by andycswt; 27-01-07 at 03:08 PM.

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      Andy IIS is Internet Information Service.

      @desi
      To be honest thats one of the reasons I changed to Outpost as Zonealarm tends to get flaky from time to time and even after you allow a program access it blocks its.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      zonealarm is paranoid and schizophrenic! some days it'll allow everything other days it allows nothing [think it loads up diffrent ways when restrarted ]maybe it suffers from Seasonal Affected Disorder junk it and get outpost

    6. #5
      walter's Avatar
      walter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      I don't use Zone Alarm because I used to get a lot of conflicts. I now use AVG and if you look carefully you can find well hidden settings in the configuration which does allow various programmes. It may well be that Zone Alarm has the same facility of you explore every avenue.

    7. #6
      desi's Avatar
      desi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      Is that "Agnitum Outpost Firewall Pro"?
      Do they do a free version?

      Cheers
      Serenity Now!

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      It is and they don't you can use it for I think 30 days but for what they charge its well worth it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      desi's Avatar
      desi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      Cheers for that.
      Serenity Now!

    10. #9
      djcsurf's Avatar
      djcsurf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      You should also consider the Comodo firewall. I used Zonealarm previously but since i've changed, absolutely no regrets.
      I did have a link somewhere, can't find it now tho which compares all the major firewalls & Comodo comes 1st.
      Best of all, it's freeware.
      The only thing i suggest is to read thru the help guide 1st, as for total noobs it could be a tad difficult to configure correctly

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Zonealarm to allow access to sites hosted on IIS

      Yes I have tried that one on my daughters PC and it seems ok >>Link<< but I much rather use Outpost myself
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION