Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Activated today...I think???

    This is a discussion on Activated today...I think??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I think I've been activated today but there seems to be a problem. My Sky letter says the 24th, ...

    1. #1
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Activated today...I think???

      Hi,

      I think I've been activated today but there seems to be a problem. My Sky letter says the 24th, the BT order tracker says the 24th and now has completed next to it but I have no ADSL green light.

      My AOL connection went off this morning...I was on 8MB and I have now plugged in the Sky router which shows as connected at 13009 or something like that but there is no information like IP address and so on and the green light is out.

      I have tried re-booting and so on but nothing. Is this normal?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      Doh!

      I posted at just after midnight so I meant to say yesterday!

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      It maybe an error at BT's end or it might just take some time to filter through.

      Have you tried replacing your old filters and old cable from the filter and old modem / router with the ones that came with your router?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      I've just changed the filter and wires and the speed now says connected at 13682 but no ADSL light. I'll leave it till the morning and hope it's on

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      If it isn't then only Sky themselves can help you, 0800 051 2595 is the free phone number.

    7. #6
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      Thanks Alan,

      Just checked it and it's still not on so I'll have to phone them. I thought the whole idea of migration was to reduce downtime

    8. #7
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      Ok I've phoned Sky and they don't seem to be very clued up on what's going on.

      I told her what the problem was and she agreed that I was activated yesterday. She looked at the screen and said the order was completed at 9pm last night.

      She does not know why there is no connection though. Just told me to ring back when I get home so they can test my phone or something.

      I hope this is not the start of things to come. I've left a decent stable connection for...nothing

    9. #8
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      First of all u have been connected they were right about that.
      If you do the sky test see what error it gives if any.
      The thing that i personally think it is, is that sky just havent activated ur login details for there network. ask them to check and make sure that ur account is activated.

    10. #9
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      Hi NoXioUs,

      That's exactly what I think it is. I'm obviously connected at the exchange but I've not been authenticated by Sky somewhere.

      I run the Sky Test last night and it just said "Test Failed, There is no internet connection" or something along those lines.

      I'm going to phone them when I get home and do what you said.

    11. #10
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated today...I think???

      Ok this is getting more weird.

      I phoned Sky and got put through to Technical. He went through loads of rubbish then asked me to reset the router which i did.

      The green ADSL light still did not come on but I noticed that in the netgear control panel the IP address and information were now showing so I opened a web page and it worked. I tried a few more sites just to make sure they were not stored on my PC and it worked fine but no green light.

      The man said maybe the green light on the router was broke so I said well it's ok as long as the internet is working. Put the phone down and it's all gone off again!

      Gonna have to ring back. I wonder if the router is broke?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION