Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    adsl+2 again

    This is a discussion on adsl+2 again within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; well a friend of mine just went live on sky max today, similar type of distance to the exchange as ...

    1. #1
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      adsl+2 again

      well a friend of mine just went live on sky max today, similar type of distance to the exchange as me (around 600 to 700 meters), guess what? sky have also not put him on a true 16mb adsl2+ platform! he is connecting at 8 and downloading around the 6mb mark.

      why do sky insist on dooing this???

      ill keep you posted


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      Quote Originally Posted by lee2007 View Post
      why do sky insist on dooing this???
      I've heard a couple of theories and could add a couple of my own:
      • exchange engineer set up error
      • Sky have run out of ADSL2+ cards
      • Its a way of reducing bandwidth demand on busy exchanges
      • Its a new process - cap customers (which increases noise margin) then see if the line is capable of higher speeds
      • Its a new process - test the line during exchange set up and if poor, cap.

      Take your pick

    4. #3
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      Its a way of reducing bandwidth demand on busy exchanges

      sounds the most likely. Then probably uncap anyone who complains which I expect isn't many.

    5. #4
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      Give it a few days and then if he is still not on it get him to phone and ask for it, give it some time first.

      ps. hows yours been since it was changed.

    6. #5
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      my connection has been steady as a rock, download speed checks always throw back speeds of a minimum of 11mbs with a sync of 15.9mb, im sure my line can handle more (as adsl2+ is really capable of giving syncs at up to 24mbs ) so that shows that it is posible for sky to cap the 16mb package ie give sync rates of 16mb but limit you to whatever they see fit, as they are currently capping the adsl2+ to 16mb, but are they then also capping that 16mb further on some peoples connections?


      my friend will have to wait a few days as he is not showing on skys sytems yet.

    7. #6
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      I think it may well be a cost cutting measure put as many people as possible on standard adsl as would probaly save quite bit in bandwith.
      I have hopefully got my connection sorted I have been told they are awaiting a new dedicated backhaul fibre to my exchange to go live then should reach my connection speed of 16mb at min though its limited to 8mb download by BT as its a shared pipe between a few companies and wouldnt be fair for sky to use at such a high rate.

    8. #7
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      I'm sorry, but this whole 'Sky capped me at 8Mb to save money on bandwidth' is rubbish.
      The Sky/Easynet network is not tight on bandwidth. The cap has been put there (if it is capped) because Sky/Easynet believe it is the best option for his line.
      The fact you say he's syncing at 8Mb but getting 6Mb proves my point.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      Syncing at 8000kbps would typically give a download speed of ~6800kbps due to transmission overheads.

      I'm at a bit of a loss to understand how that proves your point?

      You may well be right in terms of your view of why Sky are capping (my own opinion is that's there's probably more than one reason hence the list I postulated) but the ratio of download speed to connection speed doesn't prove your view.

    10. #9
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: adsl+2 again

      Need to read more carefully lol, edit: if he is in sync at 8mb as I said after a few days if no issues give them a call, it may have been an exchange issue a profile for new customers was put in place to make there stable first.
      Last edited by The Doctor; 26-01-07 at 01:14 AM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION