Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Question

    This is a discussion on Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have an old Celleron 500 pc with windows 98 SE if I put a network card in it will ...

    1. #1
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      I have an old Celleron 500 pc with windows 98 SE if I put a network card in it will it work with the sky router?. At the moment I just use it to download all the crap I don't want on my laptop but would be usefull to have it for P2P broadband.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      as long as the network card supports 98 i cant see no reason why not, as the router has four ports just hook it up with a cable and voila




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      well tbh since its old have you thought about

      http://leaf.sourceforge.net/

      its a linux router / fileserver on a floppy tbh as u may like to download with out degrading your internetting nothing worse than downloading and slowing yourself down.

      i dunno how itll work with skys netgear router im sure u would have to disable most of the dhcp bits n bobs and have it similar to this

      -------------- -------------------
      | adsl modem| ------ |old pc running leaf|
      -------------- -------------------
      |
      |
      |
      |
      --------------
      rest of puters
      --------------


      or

      -------------- ------------------- -------- ----------
      | adsl modem| ------ |old pc running leaf| ---- |switch| ---- | puters |
      -------------- ------------------- -------- ----------

      as ive heard this netgear router gets wierd when routing packets for say p2p
      im thinking of doing this myself as hopefully ill be able to use qos to prevent laggyness and fun

      or if command line fun isnt you bag http://www.pclinuxonline.com/news.php its allright
      Last edited by EL_PRESEDENTE; 01-09-06 at 12:26 AM.

    5. #4
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The celeron will be fine. No need to run linux, it's overly complex for this situation imo.

    6. #5
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      depends he wanted it for p2p and well tbh if the netgear router supplied does not have qos controlls why he throttling the connection basically slows him down if doing other things at the same time on another puter even thuough its is rather a lot of faffing about and is just another option

      sure u can just stick a network card in and go but if u wanted to spread the bandwidth equallly and or have an online game u can fiddle with what packets should get priority but its fun to embrace your nerdy side from time to time

      unless i got it wrong and you just want to get sky movies by broadband
      Last edited by EL_PRESEDENTE; 01-09-06 at 05:47 AM.

    7. #6
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I use the Celeron PC to download from Limewire I don't use my laptop as you can't always be sure what your getting. At the moment it takes about 15 to 20 mins to get one MP3. If any files stuff up the PC I aint that bothered I can just format reload and only lose the junk.
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

    8. #7
      MJMoore's Avatar
      MJMoore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      However, don't forget that Windows 98 is no supported, and you will get no critical updates etc. It may not be the safest thing for lots of downloading.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION