Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

    This is a discussion on Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone. To say i am frustarted is an understatement! I currently have 1Mb ADSL with Newnet. I have had ...

    1. #1
      jasonshirt's Avatar
      jasonshirt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wath
      Broadband ISP: conect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Hi everyone.

      To say i am frustarted is an understatement! I currently have 1Mb ADSL with Newnet. I have had this with them for approx 1Year. Due to their recent decision to increase prices by 3/month i decided to request a MAC code and search around.

      At the same time i was bombarded with emails from Sky BB stating that although my exchange (Wath upon Dearne) was not enabled for LLU (Summer 2007) i could enjoy Connect with them for 5/month.

      I instantly thought great, what a winner! This is until i contacted Sky CS and tried to join up.....

      He entered my phone number and stated that i could not receive Connect due to my line not being copper? He stated it was a fibre line. I tried everything in the book to get him to try harder but he could not do anything. He simply suggested that It must be a BT problem and that their system cannot be overidden.

      Can someone explain why i can receive BBand on an ADSL BT line with other providers but not with Sky. This is not MAX but standard ADSL. What should i do?
      Does anyone have any ideas who is best to contact to try to resolve this?

      Any help would be appreciated.

      Jase

      SUFC
      C'mon you Red & White Wizards!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Ring back and try speaking to someone else, use the freephone number though




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      jasonshirt's Avatar
      jasonshirt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wath
      Broadband ISP: conect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Hi

      Tried again. Still getting the computer says no response.

      Is their a technical dept that could help me. Whats this tier2 /3 thingy?

      Thanks
      Jase

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Tier2 & Tier3 are just different sections within the Tech Support team, The higher tier the more advanced tools/things they can do!

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Quote Originally Posted by jasonshirt View Post
      Hi

      Tried again. Still getting the computer says no response.

      Is their a technical dept that could help me. Whats this tier2 /3 thingy?

      Thanks
      Jase
      Lol that reminds me of Little Britain "Computer Says No!!!!!!"
      Sorry not very constructive but did make me chuckle though!

    7. #6
      snake's Avatar
      snake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Quote Originally Posted by jasonshirt View Post
      Hi everyone.

      To say i am frustarted is an understatement! I currently have 1Mb ADSL with Newnet. I have had this with them for approx 1Year. Due to their recent decision to increase prices by 3/month i decided to request a MAC code and search around.

      At the same time i was bombarded with emails from Sky BB stating that although my exchange (Wath upon Dearne) was not enabled for LLU (Summer 2007) i could enjoy Connect with them for 5/month.

      I instantly thought great, what a winner! This is until i contacted Sky CS and tried to join up.....

      He entered my phone number and stated that i could not receive Connect due to my line not being copper? He stated it was a fibre line. I tried everything in the book to get him to try harder but he could not do anything. He simply suggested that It must be a BT problem and that their system cannot be overidden.

      Can someone explain why i can receive BBand on an ADSL BT line with other providers but not with Sky. This is not MAX but standard ADSL. What should i do?
      Does anyone have any ideas who is best to contact to try to resolve this?

      Any help would be appreciated.

      Jase

      SUFC
      C'mon you Red & White Wizards!
      My advise to you would be to contact BT about this as with the connect package it is there equipment you will be using not sky's. If the line is not copper then BT are the only ones that can fix that problem. Remeber folks the telephone exchange offices belong to BT and any work done in these exchange offices is BT's responsibility other ISP's rent the exchange offices of BT. Give BT a call and see what they say and be persitant on the phone with them cause they can tend to pass the buck.

    8. #7
      jasonshirt's Avatar
      jasonshirt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wath
      Broadband ISP: conect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      Thanks Snake for that.

      Do you or does anyone have a good number to get through to BT (right dept) i tried the 150 number but no one ever answers.

    9. #8
      wozie's Avatar
      wozie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      I have had exactly the same problem - you have fibre optic line - no I don't as I already have ADSL from another provider.

      They told me to BT a freephone number, which I knew was a waste of time, and then the lady called me back as promised. told BT said not them, she said she would escalate in SKY and someone would contact me in 48hours.

      Sky did ring back and said you do not have fibre optic, try applying agin in about a week.

      A week passes by and start again - no change - and still none the wiser what the real problem is.

      Bt wholesale now have a line retail customers can call them on (0800 169 0934) - so I phone this just to double check - the guy was very helpful said nothing unusual about my line all I need is MAc code from my current provider. He did state that he had 3 calls within the last hour asking exactly the same about migrating to SKY.

      BT Wholsale said likely to be an error with SKy ordering system and how it was processing the codes received from BT wholesale.

      At this point I thought I would excalate to customer care in SKY as getting no real answer from them - still awaiting a response to my email ....

    10. #9
      snake's Avatar
      snake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      This is @ jasonshirt. I just run an exchange check on samknows and 3 different exchanges came up for wath. Wasn't so sure which one was your exchange code so i checked all 3 of them. As it states wath is ADSL enabled but isn't LLU and that was for all 3 exchanges. So to be honest with ya i don't see how sky can't offer you a broadband service through connect. Try that number that was on the previous post and see where that leads ya man it is worth a try

    11. #10
      jasonshirt's Avatar
      jasonshirt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wath
      Broadband ISP: conect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot Get Sky Connect!!!ed

      CHeers Snake and Wozie,

      At least i know i am not the only one out here.

      Wozie, which email addy did you use for sky? If i use the same one then this should escalate the issue.

      SNake- Wath Upon Dearne is the correct exchange.

      Thanks for the BT Wholesale Number also.

      Anyone else had this kinda trouble please share with us.

      Wozie, let me know how you get on.

      Cheers

      Jase

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION