Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Max Download Speed Help

    This is a discussion on Sky Max Download Speed Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I've just been activated on Sky Max after a week of downtime, and am not impressed with the download ...

    1. #1
      tezmc's Avatar
      tezmc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wythenshawe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Hi

      I've just been activated on Sky Max after a week of downtime, and am not impressed with the download speeds I'm getting. My exchange is on the next street to me, so I should really be getting the full 16mb. I'm maxing out at around 80kbps on downloads, and speed tests are showing a max of around 280kbps. My router stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 11.0 db 6.2 db
      Noise Margin 10.4 db 11.5 db


      Any ideas?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Welcome to the forum

      Yes, with your attenuation you should be easily getting the full 16 meg. In fact you pretty much are as a connection speed, it's the download speed that's the issue.

      There are a number of reasons why download speeds are often lower than connection speeds but in your case the difference is so huge (you should be seeing download speeds of ~13000kbps) that it hard to believe the cause is anything other than a Sky service set up or exchange problem. A number of members have posted similar problems in the last week or so.

      By all means try the normal routine - test socket, TCPOptimizer, better speedtest server etc (see stickies below) but frankly I doubt there's much point (I hope I'm wrong).

      You need to get on to Sky Technical Tier 3 and progress the problem with them. If you are lucky Sky already realise there's a problem and are in the process of fixing it.

      PS. The above is written on the assumption that you are wired. Of course, if you're wireless then this could be the problem.
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-01-07 at 06:59 PM.

    4. #3
      tezmc's Avatar
      tezmc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wythenshawe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Cheers for the quick reply.

      I'll have to get onto sky about it. Is there a way to speak to T3 directly rather than going through the usual 0800 number?

      I did the tests on a few computers on my network. Most are wireless, but one is wired to the router. The speed doesnt change on any of them.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      There is a direct Tier 3 number but they will only take the call if you have a ticket already raised. Sadly, you will have to go through the pain of answering Tier 1's questions (and sometimes their hilarious explanations) first.

    6. #5
      tezmc's Avatar
      tezmc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wythenshawe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      I'm on the phone to Tier1 now, and they are saying theres nothing they can do. They are even saying that they can't escalate to Tier 3, and that this is the best I can have on my line. Great customer service here.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Dig your heels in.

      So what's their explanation for a download speed that's ~2% of the connection speed?

    8. #7
      tezmc's Avatar
      tezmc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wythenshawe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      I got a ticket raised in the end after speaking to about 5 people. One of them said did I want to cancel! I've waited a week with no internet because of error 300 problems, theres no chance I'm cancelling.

    9. #8
      tezmc's Avatar
      tezmc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wythenshawe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Well, I'm getting around 520KBps from newsgroups now. Better than before, and better than my old 2mb connection, but could I get better speeds than this?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Quote Originally Posted by tezmc View Post
      could I get better speeds than this?
      Presuming you are using a decent newsgroup service, yes.

      I have a poorer connection speed than you and download from newsgroups at ~10000kbps. With your connection speed, as I said before, you should be seeing 13000kbps.

      Out of interest, have you optimised your TCP/IP settings?

      If not, as I also said before, it might bring some improvement, though if it bridges the gap between your current and expected speeds then that would be astounding. Also make sure you test your speed with a good server such as this one.

    11. #10
      snake's Avatar
      snake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Download Speed Help

      Quote Originally Posted by tezmc View Post
      Hi

      I've just been activated on Sky Max after a week of downtime, and am not impressed with the download speeds I'm getting. My exchange is on the next street to me, so I should really be getting the full 16mb. I'm maxing out at around 80kbps on downloads, and speed tests are showing a max of around 280kbps. My router stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 11.0 db 6.2 db
      Noise Margin 10.4 db 11.5 db


      Any ideas?

      Thanks
      Your line attenuation is excellent you should beable to lean out your window and tap a BT engineer on the head lol. Well yes your speeds are bad for line attenuation if noise margins like that. Did tier 3 do anything with your line? There may be an issue in the exchange that will need to be logged to BT by T2 to have that checked so it isn't Tier 3 you need to go to its Tier 2 as they will need to get an exchange engineer sent out to have a look at that for ya. Give me the ticket number i may beable to help you

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION