Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    now a sky bb user but....

    This is a discussion on now a sky bb user but.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; you are also not connected to adsl2+, but your line stats are different to mine, if you post your own ...

    1. #11
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      you are also not connected to adsl2+, but your line stats are different to mine, if you post your own thread you will get a much better reply and a more detailed anserw on your line stats.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      sataurday - do you understand thoses faults? if so could you explain what they are (if you have the time)

      i will do a test from the test socket and get back to you with the new results.

    4. #13
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      ok

      first line check and stats, NOT CHECKED AT test socket (current set up which includes - filter (house phone and sky router - no extensions or sky boxes connected to phone line)

      router stats
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 19.0 13.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.4
      Max(Kbps): 10784 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 6115 6113
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 831766 51960
      RSCorr: 16 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1999877 0
      Data Cells: 4775 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 2 min 17 sec
      SF = 6115
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 17 sec
      SF = 6115
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 17 sec
      SF = 6115
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      speed test at namesco:
      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 6970 kbps (871.3 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 653 kbps (81.6 KB/sec transfer rate)



      TEST AT BT TEST SOCKET BEHINDE FACE PLATE - includes router reboot.
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 19.0 13.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 6.8
      Max(Kbps): 11008 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4116 4114
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 559822 34969
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1345476 0
      Data Cells: 36 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 26 0
      Total time = 1 min 44 sec
      SF = 4116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 44 sec
      SF = 4116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 44 sec
      SF = 4116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0



      speed check
      Download Speed: 6970 kbps (871.3 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 650 kbps (81.3 KB/sec transfer rate)

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      Quote Originally Posted by lee2007 View Post
      you are also not connected to adsl2+, but your line stats are different to mine, if you post your own thread you will get a much better reply and a more detailed anserw on your line stats.
      I thought my answer was quite good and reasonably detailed - sorry it didn't meet with your approval

      I also said he was on G.DMT not ADSL2+
      Last edited by Saturday; 18-01-07 at 06:25 PM.

    6. #15
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      hi saturday, there seems to be some confusion, i started a thread about my new connection speeds and line stats, then the other lad put a post in my thread (not that im complaining) i simply told him he would get a better reply from you (or anyone else) in his own thread.

      was your post that started "You've been capped" for him or me lol? as my post was posted 4 mins after yours, but i began to compose it before you had posted "You've been capped", when i put the bit about starting his own thread, your post was not showing on my screen, as you posted while i was composing my message.

      by the way you no what you are talking about, thast why i posted the stats from and not from the bt test socket, they were for your going over.
      Last edited by lee2007; 18-01-07 at 06:45 PM.

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      Quote Originally Posted by lee2007 View Post
      was your post that started "You've been capped" for him or me lol?
      It was for him - it followed his post.

      If it was for you then I would either have quoted you or started with @lee2007

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      @lee2007

      Your stats show that you have been capped.

      You are on (Sky) G.DMT which limits your connection speed to ~8000kbps.

      Were you on ADSL2+, with your enviably low attenuation of 19db you could expect, with a reasonably noise free line to connect at close or to at the maximum speed for Sky Max.

      There is a small but significant jump in noise margin when you connected to your test socket. This indicates that you probably have noise arising from your internal (extensions) phone wiring. A replacement filtered faceplate would probably eliminate this. You may also get similar results were you to remove any ring wire in place (do this at your risk).

      You need to contact Sky to find out why they have put you on G.DMT.

      Both of the last set of stats covered a too short period to indicate the error levels of your line.

      If you extract the stats later tonight or tomorrow you need to look first at the CRC (cyclic redundancy check) errors. There is no "right" figure but ideally they should be a maximum of something like <0.01% of the SF figure (which is roughly the figure you had in your first post). So, in my opinion, if when you check again your error levels are as they were in the first post, your error levels are high but acceptable (Sky may feel differently - and it's their network).

      Next look at LOS (loss of signal). This should really be 0 but if you have a number of CRC then you could expect a (very) small number. If you have more than a few then that's a problem.

      There are also corrected and uncorrected errors to consider but the above should give you a good enough idea of what is going on.
      Last edited by Saturday; 18-01-07 at 07:51 PM.

    9. #18
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      How do you get into the pages as listed on this thread that lets you see if its adsl 2+ or not ? Also the page for the router stats

    10. #19
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: now a sky bb user but....





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #20
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: now a sky bb user but....

      ok here is the last and final update.

      tonight 23/01/07 i miss a phone call from sky at around 8.30pm, so i called them back because i knew it was an update to my problem.

      On getting through to technical support, he reads my notes and can see the call contained information that my line would not handle adsl2+ and i would not be put on it, as i have the best stable line rate they can give me, and my ticket had beeen closed, well you can imagine this wound me up to boiling point.

      I said i would not accept that and said i wanted to make a complaint, he then said he could speak to the guy who had phoned me from tech 3, he went away and came back and said tech 3 had just confirmed that only 8mb was available on my line, he said he could put me through to the guy at tech 3 if i wanted to speak to him, of course i said yes, i was put through within 5 mins to the same guy that had called me.

      This guy in t3 stated that around 8pm he tried to put me onto adsl2+, but my line would not handle it, and his computer showed my router would not even sync to the adsl2+ platform, i then began to argue with him, quoting my line stats, high download speed on the 8mb sync, he then had the cheek to say that my line stats were not very good at all, and that would was the reason for no adsl2+, i then asked him if he would put that in writing and confirm that a line with my stats could not handle adsl2+, and that i wanted his name and to be put through to compains, he then said im going home my shift has finnished and transferd my call back to the orginal guy in tech 1 who had been dealing with me!!

      I told tech1 guy (who was brilliant and ive got his name) that i wanted to be put through to complaints as i wanted this took further.

      So get throught to complaints (who was in broadband section) he told me that he had spoken to his t3 coleague who confirmed yet again that he had tried to connect me to adsl2+, and that sky had no reason to lie to me or indeed limit my conection speeds, so on to line stats it was, i argued that how come with my line stats and my 600 meter distance from the exchange was adsl2+ not possible? he then said ok, to keep you happy we will put you on adsl2+ for 24 hours to see how you go, but you will have a very unstable and unusable connection.

      so passed back to t1, who said he had a t3 guy next to him loggin on to his systems (at this point i logged into my router for the stats), router was dead, busy negotiating, then it came up conected at 15997 kbps!!!, i instantly did a speed check - downloading at around 10.5mb, i had a smile on my face, tech 1 comes back to phone and asked if i had noticed or could see any change. I said yes i can, im now syncing at 16 and downloading at around 10mb to 11mb. i dont know what the t1 and t3 guy thought when i told them that, so he then appologised told me that this is the first instance he has had of someone with my "type" of problem.

      he asked me if i was happy and i said yes of course i am, im still concerned about the run around i have had if "lies" have been told, why was i not put on adsl2+ from the start?, he had no anserws for me.

      so now we have it, im syncing at 16 downloading at what i can see will not go any higher then 11mb (which im happy with).

      heres some stats:

      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 10735 kbps (1341.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 646 kbps (80.8 KB/sec transfer rate)


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15997 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 12.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 13.0 db



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15997 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.5 12.5
      Attn(dB): 23.0 12.5
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16428 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15997 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 62 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4770 7.7037
      L: 4276 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 111438 111436
      SFErr: 2 1
      RS: 15155698 947206
      RSCorr: 2145561 0
      RSUnCorr: 2 0

      HEC: 1 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 68206175 3231593
      Data Cells: 278197 62730
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 30 min 27 sec
      SF = 111438
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 30 min 27 sec
      SF = 111438
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 27 sec
      SF = 1725
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55474
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54239
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by lee2007; 24-01-07 at 12:10 AM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION