Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Bulldog to Sky??

    This is a discussion on Bulldog to Sky?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Can anyone tell me if they have moved to Sky from Bulldog. I currently have the 8meg from Bulldog ...

    1. #1
      Pete's Avatar
      Pete is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Laindon,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max 14714 kbps
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Bulldog to Sky??

      Hello,

      Can anyone tell me if they have moved to Sky from Bulldog. I currently have the 8meg from Bulldog and am 100% happy with the quality of the the connection. Downstream a constant 7264kbps. Downtime has been 24hrs in almost 3 yrs. However I have just been told that I can now get skybroadband in my area and the 16meg that they offer is faster and cheaper than the 8meg from Bulldog. Also is there a right way to "get the ball rolling" as I understand that I have to have a BT line to get Sky. Which means cancelling my phone + broadband with Bulldog, getting a line with BT, then getting sky to connect me. Many thanks.... Pete


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      I don't have and have never had a cable line but could you not keep your existing bulldog line and it's services activated until a BT line is fitted and Sky is activated and you won't experience any downtime? I don't know if that would be the best way though because of the monthly bills you'll be paying for these services. Someone who has done this may be able to offer a better soloution.

    4. #3
      Pete's Avatar
      Pete is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Laindon,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max 14714 kbps
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      what happened to my replies????? I had a wealth of information posted here and its all gone!!!! I wasnt able to log on here for a day or so might that have something to do with it????

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      We have had to restore a backup from the other server, as soon as we get the data back we will try and rebuild - sorry!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      madman11's Avatar
      madman11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      Hey everyone. I have re-registered now after that crash/wipe.

      Pete how is it going? Have you got a date for going back to BT?

      Im being connected back to BT on the 26th this week so hopefuly i can place an order straight away on that day(is this the case?).

      I got a letter from BT about their line rental and LLU aquisition as well.
      Did you tell bulldog?
      Let me know.

    7. #6
      jonnydoe's Avatar
      jonnydoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01473604045
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      Hi all

      I'm thinking about migrating from bulldog to sky, rang sky and they say I need a bt line before they can do anything (pre checks etc..). I realise i need a bt line but want to get the ball rolling now..

      Can i just transfer my phone line from bulldog back to bt and on same day activate sky broadband on the new bt line.

      How much downtime am I likely to see?

      Minimum downtime ideally..

      Thanks

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      Hi Johnny

      Nope you will have downtime. The only sure fire way would be to get a new BT line, but that costs money.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      jonnydoe's Avatar
      jonnydoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01473604045
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      Hi newsreader

      yeah just looked on the sky broadband website, looks like this is the procedure

      1) phone up BT to reactivate phone line/install new line
      2) once phoneline is active for 5 days contact sky
      3) order sky broadband (how long will this take from day 1 ordering?
      4) cancel bulldog (takes 10 days)

      Looks like It could be up 3-4 weeks downtime

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      Unfortunately - Yep thats the procedure, if you can cope with dialup then go for it.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      madman11's Avatar
      madman11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bulldog to Sky??

      This is the way it should be done:

      1) Call up Bulldog, check if its within your contract rights to cancel otherwise you will have to pay off the rest of your contract.
      2) Call up BT and tell them your with Bulldog. Request a return to donor and they will give you a date with which they will reconnect your phone back to BT.
      3) Call Bulldog again. Try to speak to the same person you spoke to before(it helps) and inform them of this date and make it clear you will be leaving. Also send a letter and an email to make sure it gets through.
      4) Wait till the BT connection date
      5) Order Sky broadband when your connected to BT

      Between step 4 and 5 you will see little downtime for your phoneline but you will be left without broadband until sky get their skates on. This could mean 1-4 weeks without broadband at all.

      Im in the same proccess. I'm getting connected to BT on the 26th January this week and i will try to order Sky straight away.

      Oh, and once your final Bulldog bill comes through, pay it and cancel the DD or your CC.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION