Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Port Forwarding Help Please

    This is a discussion on Port Forwarding Help Please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am trying to get port forwarding up and running on my Netgear DG834GT. I have static IPs setup like ...

    1. #1
      SaladDodger's Avatar
      SaladDodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Port Forwarding Help Please

      I am trying to get port forwarding up and running on my Netgear DG834GT.

      I have static IPs setup like this:

      Address Reservation
      # IP Address Device Name MAC Address
      1 192.168.0.101 MAIN 00:14:85:26:A7:17
      2 192.168.0.200 LINUX 00:20:18:55:AA:0C

      The Firewall Rules are setup thus:

      Outbound Services
      # Enable Service Name Action LAN Users WAN Servers Log
      Default Yes Any ALLOW always Any Any Never

      Inbound Services
      # Enable Service Name Action LAN Server IP address WAN Users Log
      1 HTTP ALLOW always 192.168.0.200 Any Always
      2 SSH ALLOW always 192.168.0.200 Any Always
      Default Yes Any BLOCK always Any Any Never


      I can get through to both HTTP(Apache) and SSH from 192.168.0.101 (i.e. from within my LAN) but I cannot get through using an "external" (WAN/Internet) PC.

      I use No-IP.com to maintain my IP address and I can ping my IP address from the "external" PC so I seem to hit the router OK.

      Any help, suggestions, highlighting of stupid mistakes would be appreciated.

      BTW both No-IP and the Linux box worked fine on my old Belkin router.

      Cheers - SD


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      Can't really be any help to you on the forwarding issue but I can say this.

      When I had port 22 open for SSH people kept trying to brute force usernames & passwords. I got fed up and moved my SSH port way up out of the way and haven't had any trouble since. I just have to specify a different port whenever I connect.

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      Welcome to the site SaladDodger

      Looking at your setup its correct but as for accessing your site from outside the router sorry you cant as the router has no NAT Loopback you may want to try this Netgear DG834G NAT Loopback Patch not sure if it will work with the GT but worth a try I guess.

      Good luck
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      SaladDodger's Avatar
      SaladDodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Welcome to the site SaladDodger

      Looking at your setup its correct but as for accessing your site from outside the router sorry you cant as the router has no NAT Loopback you may want to try this Netgear DG834G NAT Loopback Patch not sure if it will work with the GT but worth a try I guess.

      Good luck
      Sorry but I'm not with you. Perhaps I've not explained very well. What I need to do is send files from work to my home using SFTP(i.e. SSH). This would seem to be a fairly simple thing to do with no need to use NAT loopback.

      The HTTP port was opened primarily as a test to prove that other ports would open too. I use my Linux box as a CVS repository and it's convinient to be able to access it from work.

      Are you saying that the DG834GT does not allow port-forwarding as I find this very hard to believe?

    6. #5
      SaladDodger's Avatar
      SaladDodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      Quote Originally Posted by Hoagie View Post
      Can't really be any help to you on the forwarding issue but I can say this.

      When I had port 22 open for SSH people kept trying to brute force usernames & passwords. I got fed up and moved my SSH port way up out of the way and haven't had any trouble since. I just have to specify a different port whenever I connect.
      Well, if they really want to waste their time getting into my network they're welcome. It won't gain them much. From my point-of-view I'd settle for being able to get in myself...

    7. #6
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      I think what Wheelie is saying is that you need to test it from the outside. Connecting to the external IP of the router from the inside doesn't work.

    8. #7
      SaladDodger's Avatar
      SaladDodger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      Quote Originally Posted by Hoagie View Post
      I think what Wheelie is saying is that you need to test it from the outside. Connecting to the external IP of the router from the inside doesn't work.
      Yes, I've tried it from a friend's PC and from work. No joy. As I said before I have had a similar thing running with my old Belkin router and my old ISP (Pipex).

      I've tried ringing Sky support and get through to some very nice people in Belfast (Although they all seem to have Indian accents) but once you get off the script they are not much help.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      Sorry to see you are still stuck may I suggest you have a read in the tech froum you will find some very interestion information in there to aid your router problem.

      Best advice I can give you in the normal forums sorry.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      JonJ27's Avatar
      JonJ27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      I have found a few people with the same problem.. but no one seems to be able to provide an answer..

      After speaking with those same "Irish" support technicians (2 of them)... then some scottish ones (4 of them).. I have some one calling me back from sky.. but i bet they still start with questions like "do you have internet connection?"

      I will update this forum if they can reveal anything.. please do likewise..

      good luck

    11. #10
      Psycho's Avatar
      Psycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGDDLI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      222
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding Help Please

      @SaladDodger

      I do a similar thing mate (FTP Transfer) using the following

      I firstly set up a Dynamic DNS (You'll need this because the server is running behind both a NAT router & possibly your firewall)

      I then installed & run Filezilla FTP server on my home PC (set up with your Dynamic DNS address in the passive mode settings)

      Then set yourself up as a user with password etc. & set the home directory to whichever you choose

      Open the FTP port in the router & input your main PC IP in the LAN server address

      Open ports on your firewall as necessary

      Then go here FTP to test that you can get access

      When you have it set up & working you need to download & install Filezilla on your work PC & log into the server on your home PC. (using your Dynamic DNS address as the server address)

      Once you are up & running, Filezilla supports SSL so you can make your own cert & force all logins to use SSL.

      To download Filezilla Server & Filezilla go here Filezilla Download Page

      Hope that helps

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION