Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    dial up speed on max grrr!

    This is a discussion on dial up speed on max grrr! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey ho, Ok here we go, just had my BB activated yesterday and was getting all excited as i was ...

    1. #1
      funky's Avatar
      funky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      dial up speed on max grrr!

      Hey ho,
      Ok here we go, just had my BB activated yesterday and was getting all excited as i was expecting speeds of upto 8Mb, ......

      however, after doing a multiple of speed tests using adslguide and newzbin, i am getting a download rate of between 50 and 60k thats K as in dial up speeds, my upload is sitting nicely at 700ish k.

      so i go into the router management and check the settings etc etc and these show that "DownStream Connection Speed 9208 kbps". i bloody wish.

      called BB tech support and the best answer i got out of them was "erm i'm afraid i don't know", he told me there was nothing he could do, so i nicely asked to go to retentions to cancel my contract, i was then told that the complaint could be escalated, however they would cap my line at 5Mb as this is all my phone line could support ( fair enough, still cheaper than NTL ). i was then told it can take 5 days. ok i will wait.


      1. has this happened to anyone before and what was the result?

      2. if im only getting 50k down whats the point of capping my line anyway.

      3. any other advice ( ps tried the MTU optimizer, no change ).



      cheers Funky


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      Couple of things:
      • can you confirm you are testing with a wired connection not wireless
      • please post your router connection speed. attenuation and noise margin figures

    4. #3
      funky's Avatar
      funky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      at the moment its wired as i have not yet got round to getting a wireless card and if i dont get this resolves im not going to waste the cash.

      but here you go m8

      distance from exchange is 1.28 km

      router stats:


      Connection Speed 9208 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 25.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 12.0 db

    5. #4
      geohar's Avatar
      geohar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      On the same chesham exchange, I have a slightly better noise margin, but am getting very similar problems.

      My achieved download is nowhere near the sync speed.

      Last night I spoke to T3 technical support and they didn't really know what was causing it (but agreed it was very odd and the line speeds suggest I should do far better). They ended up suggesting a replacement router.

      I did a traceroute this morning and there's 40-100% packet loss between smcsh exchange and the next hop in the network. I can dig out the router names later but they're not on my work computer. Plus the fact that you have a very similar issue to me on the same exchange.

      I suggest you call technical support and tell them there's an issue either on the chesham exchange or between that and the rest of easynet. I will be doing the same. Hopefully they will listen and investigate the issue.

      Cheers

      George

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      @funky

      Well, nothing obvious wrong with your stats.

      You may be 1.28km as the crow flies but your attenuation suggests your line is ~3km. Based on this your potential maximum downstream connection rate is a little over 10000kbps so you're not too far off that.

      I've no idea why your download speeds are so low - you've done the obvious and set your TCP/IP up for a fast connection ( I assume that's what you mean by "MTU optimizer"). There have been 2 or 3 other people with similar problems in the last day or so. No cause yet found.

      Maybe an exchange/Sky set up issue as geohar suggests.

    7. #6
      funky's Avatar
      funky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      hey George, have being running tracerts and packet loss tests all morning and tbh not really getting much packet loss at all, would be interesting to know what you used to compare but i did get this little program from Dan Elwell's Broadband Speed Test - downloadable utility to perform tests on your ADSL, DSL, Cable or Wireless Internet connection.

      and i got this, **QUICK TEST**



      pay attention to test 5





      Dan Elwell's Broadband Speed Test (unregistered)
      Speed Test Report 07/01/12 14:07 - Quick test

      Test conducted at: 12/01/2007 14:07:50
      Test sequence: Quick test

      Please note that these results are a snapshot of this particular moment. Run the test a few times to ensure maximum accuracy. Although the test has been constructed to be highly accurate, no guarantees can be made to the level of accuracy experienced in everyday use.

      Test 1: Ping times to UK servers

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 30 ms (lower is better)

      gnu.teleglobe.net: 39.3 ms
      cardiff.ac.uk: 43.3 ms
      bbc.co.uk: 35.8 ms

      Your ping times are slightly poorer than expected.

      Test 2: Ping times to European servers

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 50 ms (lower is better)

      uvsq.fr: 48.3 ms
      club-internet.fr: 47.8 ms
      uni-kl.de: 78.5 ms

      The results of this test indicate no problems.

      Test 3: Ping times to east-coast USA servers

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 120 ms (lower is better)

      dc.aleron.net: 120 ms
      club.cc.cmu.edu: 119.5 ms
      internet2.edu: 140.5 ms

      The results of this test indicate no problems.

      Test 4: Ping times to west-coast USA servers

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 160 ms (lower is better)

      oregonstate.edu: 148.3 ms
      stanford.edu: 182 ms
      berkeley.edu: 187.5 ms

      The results of this test indicate no problems.

      Test 5: Download speeds from UK servers

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 8192 Kb/s (higher is better)

      apache.rmplc.co.uk: 507 Kb/s

      This result shows serious problems with your downloads, and should be investigated.

      Test 6: Upload speeds to the Speed Test Server

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 768 Kb/s (higher is better)

      Not conducted: You must register this software in order to perform this test.


      Test 7: Packet loss en route to a UK server

      Ideally, you should get a result of around 0 % (lower is better)

      cardiff.ac.uk: 0 %
      clara.net: 0 %

      The results of this test indicate no problems.

      End of testing.

      Generated 12/01/2007 14:07:50 using test version 3.0.316 - unregistered COPY

      -------------------------------------------------------------

      would you mind trying it and seeing how it compares?


      ps did you test your engineer socket in your phone line?
      Last edited by funky; 12-01-07 at 03:24 PM. Reason: additional info

    8. #7
      funky's Avatar
      funky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      i'm not sure if this would make any difference whatsoever but before i has sky installed i had ntl running, and i used the same ethernet port on my pc ( i have 2 but usually leave 1 disabled ( have tested it with same results).

      i was using the ntlhome 200 cable modem with a befsr41 v3 linksys router, i never changed any settings and if i just hotswap the ethernet cables NTL still runs as before, yes i did use the sky cd, just incase it did change anything ( apart from my homepage ).

      dunno if this helps.


      funks

    9. #8
      geohar's Avatar
      geohar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      Hey there,

      Actually, I have a Mac at home so I can't run that ;( Interestingly, it wasn't that I got dropped packets with traceroute directly to a server, but rather that some intermediate routers were misbehaving.

      You can do it via the commandline, it's probably also worth a look at

      VisualRoute traceroute server: trace IP address, trace route, IP trace, IP address locations

      And see how it indicates the performance along the way is.

      I was seeing issues between eaynet and the cr...smcsh router (inside the exchange).

      My sync speeds are 15323 down and 700 ish up. I can achieve the 700 up, but never any more than 5K/s on a download ~ 100-200kbps in speed tests.

      Because there are no errors on the line (no re-transmits or error stats that either I or the T3 support can see). And because the sync speed is so good I didn't bother. Perhaps I should just for completeness though.

      I guess the main thing I'm seeing in common is that the achieved download speed is very poor.

      Cheers

      George

    10. #9
      funky's Avatar
      funky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      hey m8, i ran visual route and did a simple trace to sky.com and believe it or not, i got blocked along the way with 100% packet loss at that point, it was the 4th easynet hop which is between the 3rd easynet and 5th easynet hop, lol

      had a few fluctuating response times aswell.

      did the same thing for google.com all fine, ( 10 % loss on one hop @ LINX),how weird.

      i will call them up in a moment and see what they have to say, not much i reckon..

      thx

    11. #10
      mrtuft's Avatar
      mrtuft is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dial up speed on max grrr!

      I also had my BB Max package activated this week & I too am on the Chesham exchange & also only about 1.3k from it. I am not particularly techy, but I appear to be getting the correct connection speeds, but download speeds of less than a quarter of a mg. I was previously on Tesco Broadband & although I only had the half mg package, achieved maximum speed possible. Therefore, as far as I am concerned, this is a Sky problem! My router stats are as follows:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 25663 26506 0 715 2918 02:14:10
      LAN 10M/100M 28901 27475 0 3044 802 02:15:31
      WLAN 11M/54M 2224 4842 0 80 34 02:15:21


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 13.7 db
      Noise Margin 13.1 db 12.5 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION