Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    is this good

    This is a discussion on is this good within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by wireless-andy and i called sky they were very nice & they ran a speed test on my ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: is this good

      Quote Originally Posted by wireless-andy View Post
      and i called sky they were very nice & they ran a speed test on my line and said due to how far away i was to the exchange an phone lines and stuff i should only recive 512kbps
      Nice or not, what you've been told is complete rubbish

      There may well be other problems with your line that prevent you getting higher speeds but the distance you are from the exchange isn't one of them.

      Your router doesn't care or know how far you are from the exchange. It measures attenuation and your attenuation is not particularly high. If you had (and I presume you haven't) a relatively noise free line then with your attenuation you should be seeing a connection speed of ~8000kbps, more than 10 times what you are getting!

      I'm sorry but you're being misled.

      The most likely reason you are getting such low speeds (apart from Sky having set you up incorrectly or capping you) is noise on your line. Most noise is generated by the wiring in the house.

      I notice no one has suggested you try your test socket. The test socket can be found behind the faceplate of your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). Plug a microfilter into this and plug the router directly into it. Now take a note of your stats and let us know what's changed.

      I'd be very surprised if you don't see a big improvement. If you don't then your problem is either a fault on the line between you and the exchange or something Sky have done or not done.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      i dont mean to be cheaky but with pervious providers have only been able to give me speeds around 512kbps im quite far from the exchange and my phone line doesnt come in via fibre optic cables so this will affect my speed

    4. #13
      paul37's Avatar
      paul37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      you're supposed to be getting up 8mb, yours equats to 0.7mb, I'm no expert but that's bad.
      mines supposed to be up to 16mb, I'm still only getting 0.35.

      again, no expert, but I would completely remove the old router and re-instal the new one.

      Good luck

    5. #14
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      arrrh yes i know im supposed to get upto 8mb but i cant coz of the distance n the old phone cables so il jst have to do with it intill bt upgrade the phone lines soo i dont mind you'r line may not be able to get up to 16meg

    6. #15
      paul37's Avatar
      paul37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      Andy... try a speed test here Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed

      my line can only apparently go up to 3.7mbpm, which is cú&p, but at the moment I would be happy with that
      Last edited by paul37; 11-01-07 at 11:16 PM.

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: is this good

      @wireless-andy

      You are missing the point. Your stats clearly and unequivocally show that your line offers a potential connection speed of ~8000kbps. I can keep repeating it but if you don't believe me then that's your choice.

      The fact that your previous supplier was only able to give you similar speeds merely reinforces the likelihood that you have a noisy line. Using the test socket will bypass the affects of any locally generated noise (the most common type).

      Very few peoples lines are fibre optic and that has nothing to do with your problem. Nor are you "quite far from the exchange".

      Your attenuation shows that with a relatively noise free line you will get the speed indicated. That's just a simple fact.

    8. #17
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      Download Speed: 460 kbps (57.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 52 kbps (6.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

      i got that but i dont reli mind as i know in my area i can only get these sorta speeds and so can every 1 else in my area so its no just me

    9. #18
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: is this good

      @paul37

      Andy can try as many speed test sites as he likes but he'll never download at a higher speed than his router is connected at.

    10. #19
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      lol true

    11. #20
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is this good

      so im suposed to plug my router into the test plug just to see how fast i can get it..................why its a waste of time

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION