Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    errors and errors

    This is a discussion on errors and errors within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all, here my first post. and already my first problem. i have sky max with the infamous netgear dg834gt ...

    1. #1
      schnuck's Avatar
      schnuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ealing
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      london
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down errors and errors

      hi all,

      here my first post. and already my first problem.
      i have sky max with the infamous netgear dg834gt (firmware V1.02.28 - the latest i suppose?) - and a nice & assuring letter from sky telling me that BT has "granted" me an activation from 04.01.2007 - but even after waiting the "obligatory" 2-3 days nothing is happening. nothing. all the tipps and tricks i could find on this forum wouldnt help: resetting router, changing settings, standing on one foot, holding an emtpy bottle of beer on top of my head (upside down) while singing the british national hymn - no luck. the "internet" light is occasionally "negotiating" but again occasionally it finds the green light ("the internet") - please see the attached picture. but i never really had the chance to surf the web. i am clueless. if anyone has any ideas why i am getting an "error code: 100" but as often an "error code: 200" - please do let me know if any ideas. thanks a lot in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      schnuck's Avatar
      schnuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ealing
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      london
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: errors and errors

      sorry, forgot to attach the screenshot.

      here it is.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails errors and errors-screenshot.jpg  

    4. #3
      BWSB's Avatar
      BWSB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: errors and errors

      you need to phone sky ask the agent whas the max speed your exchange can support for your line, example, if the agent says 2100 and ur getting 2300 you will not sync, and tier 3 speed and config will need to capp you down

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: errors and errors

      What are your full router stats, Also if there any mention of CHAP in the router logs?

    6. #5
      schnuck's Avatar
      schnuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ealing
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      london
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: errors and errors

      Quote Originally Posted by BWSB View Post
      you need to phone sky ask the agent whas the max speed your exchange can support for your line, example, if the agent says 2100 and ur getting 2300 you will not sync, and tier 3 speed and config will need to capp you down
      my max speed at my exchange is 8mb. and i know 2mb is far below it - but at the moent, this isnt really my concern. i would be happy if i could get online, even with lower speeds. i cant imagine this is the problem. thanks for your reply.

    7. #6
      schnuck's Avatar
      schnuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ealing
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      london
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: errors and errors

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      What are your full router stats, Also if there any mention of CHAP in the router logs?
      i can post my full stats as soon as i am home. but i can tell you one thing already now: chap authentication failed. lcp down (or something like this). does this info help? thanks in advance.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: errors and errors

      CHAP authentication failed suggests an error from Skys side, (Exchange) which isnt assigning you an IP to connect onto the Sky network!

    9. #8
      schnuck's Avatar
      schnuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ealing
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      london
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: errors and errors

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      CHAP authentication failed suggests an error from Skys side, (Exchange) which isnt assigning you an IP to connect onto the Sky network!
      oh please not! what to do in such a case? is there anything other than hanging on the phone for the rest of the evening and talking to callcenter?

      tia

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: errors and errors

      I remember getting a CHAP (For those who dont know; Challenge-handshake authentication protocol - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)
      error when our Exchange was being upgraded?


      Maybe you should ring Sky and ask them about this CHAP failure as this is from their side, Dont be fobbed off when they ask you to delete your COOKIES... haha!

    11. #10
      schnuck's Avatar
      schnuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ealing
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      london
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: errors and errors

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      I remember getting a CHAP (For those who dont know; Challenge-handshake authentication protocol - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)
      error when our Exchange was being upgraded?


      Maybe you should ring Sky and ask them about this CHAP failure as this is from their side, Dont be fobbed off when they ask you to delete your COOKIES... haha!
      thanks! will try this evening and let you know.

      "delete my cookies" - that will do hahaha

      ta

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION