Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky Max is dropping..

    This is a discussion on Sky Max is dropping.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Forgive me as I am at work now, so I cannot post the exact stats but merely my memory of ...

    1. #1
      sprite's Avatar
      sprite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Max is dropping..

      Forgive me as I am at work now, so I cannot post the exact stats but merely my memory of them, but I will add them later on this evening

      I had Sky Max installed yesterday (yep, I know, early days!) and was quite disappointed initially with what I saw - the router reported a downstream of around 2.5MB, attenuation was ~45 and my noise, which has me really concerned, was circling the drain at between 5.8~6.2.

      This was around 6-7pm last night. Peak time is when I use my connection the most. At the time I was trying to play Warcraft, but I kept getting disconnections (not just from WoW, but the whole internet would go).

      In honesty, I'm not too fussed about the speed. Stability is what I care about, having dumped NTL (well, hopefully, it's still active and after the Sky problems I had to plug back into it and still I couldn't play WoW due to the 'usual' problems there :P.. throttling...), so I am eager to do what I can to improve things.

      "Buy a filtered face plate!" well, here's the thing. I already have one, on the master socket, and the router is plugged into it with about 1m of RJ11 cable. There are two other phone points in the house - both with filters on and both with Sky boxes/phones in too.

      I connect wirelessly to the router, or via 10m of ethernet. Both give equal performance.

      Any suggestions? Or do I just need to wait for Sky/nag Sky to cap my speed to sort it out? (Though this worries me, I say I'm not too fussed about speed, but if at around 2.5MB my noise level is this low, I can't imagine what they might bring it down to :S)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      smokingreen's Avatar
      smokingreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max is dropping..

      I wrote a post not long ago in the gaming section about line stability.

      Sky BB : good for gaming

      (bottom post)

      I got the information from these forums, essentially you can force the router reduce the connection speed and therefore increse your SNR. Although the sync speed drops, I found real dl speeds increased dramatically and disconnects stopped altogether.

      I now have no issues with dropped connections etc, worth a go...

    4. #3
      sprite's Avatar
      sprite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max is dropping..

      Ah! Thanks very much for that. I tried to get on these forums last night but it was maintenance I'll test it out later on and report back. Thank you

    5. #4
      sprite's Avatar
      sprite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max is dropping..

      (Posting from NTL since my Sky isn't quite working atm...)

      Current Stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6924 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 26.1 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 12.0 db

      Before tweaking. Tweak time! (Glad to see speed is up ofc)

    6. #5
      sprite's Avatar
      sprite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max is dropping..

      Post-Tweakage

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4516 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 26.2 db
      Noise Margin 14.0 db 12.0 db

      Lets see how I do now. Again, thank you for the tip

      And, if anyone cares, I am a happy bunny indeed:

      Tracing route to eu.logon.worldofwarcraft.com [80.239.178.109]

      over a maximum of 30 hops:



      1 3 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 50 ms 48 ms 57 ms cr0.lsewe.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.39]
      3 37 ms 36 ms 36 ms 80.238.35.161
      4 44 ms 44 ms 45 ms ip-89-200-132-103.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.103]
      5 44 ms 43 ms 44 ms ldn-b3-link.telia.net [213.248.75.133]
      6 44 ms 44 ms 44 ms 80.91.251.14
      7 51 ms 51 ms 51 ms 213.248.65.114
      8 51 ms 51 ms 51 ms 213.248.65.226
      9 52 ms 51 ms 51 ms 80.91.250.34
      10 52 ms 51 ms 51 ms 80.239.174.108
      11 51 ms 51 ms 52 ms 80.239.178.109

      All the pings are double figures!! I've never seen anything quite like it :P
      Last edited by sprite; 08-01-07 at 08:25 PM.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky Max is dropping..

      Noise margin is a little low and you'll probably find your connection unstable. A reboot will increase your NM, but decrease your connection speed.

      I have 46db attenuation and can sync stably at 7500.

      The higher the NM, the more stable. If you get the router to synch with a NM of 8db at around 7pm, then that should provide stability 24x7.

      Have you tired the test socket under the master socket? - Ooops, yes you have by the looks of it!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION